Viva logo

Tour d’scissor

Seasons and everyday tasks

By Rachel Published 3 years ago 3 min read

Oh how very useful are a pair of scissors, oh more than I could have ever imagined. When deciding on whether to enter the contest I began to reflect on the scissors in my own home and all the times and seasons the various pairs have been dedicated to specific tasks, some to the great outdoors and others destined to the miscellaneous missions situations call for.

Let’s start with the ordinary everyday scissors kept safely in my kitchen junk drawer. They are smaller in size from a pack of three from IKEA. These little scissors often disappear as other members of the house find this pair for the tasks they need and fail to return them to their rightful home. That’s why they come in a pack of three and I have to purchase a new pack on my very exciting trips to that blue and yellow store. They have tasks such and snipping a loose thread, cutting up a credit card, or cutting out a coupon. Very useful indeed.

Just across the kitchen in a separate drawer are the “kitchen scissors”, these are a strong and very diverse. A wedding present I believe. The most mundane task that this pair does is snip the little corner off the milk bag. They also have the task of snipping the ends of beautiful bouquets gifted to me in times of love, celebration, sadness or just because. They also snip ends of rhubarb or just about any edible organic item that needs a little trim.

Down the hall towards the craft room/ more often used as the laundry room, you will find several pairs of scissors for very specific tasks. I would dare anyone to try to take any one of these scissors at risk of endangerment of their own life. There are sewing scissors, only to cut fabric and fabric only. I learned this from my mom. Trouble would come our way if we ever brought those scissors anywhere in the vicinity of paper. The twin to those scissors are the pinking shears… to prevent the edge of fabric unraveling. Perhaps these scissors are the least often used as I don’t very readily create projects that require an unfrayed edge. Nearby are the very petite and covered Cricut scissors for all Cricut crafts. These are the newest addition to my scissor family, but they are very pretty indeed. A little touch of lavender goes a long way.

Let’s not forget the bathroom scissors, tasked for all things human, a trim of an unwanted hair or an uneven nail. They aren’t glamourous but useful indeed.

Into my living room, into a cloth bag that holds my knitting and crochet projects you will find a wee foldable pair of scissors for snipping the start and the ends of projects. These scissors hold excitement about possibilities and satisfaction in a job well done.

Last but not least, and in fact my most adventurous scissors remain in my vehicle. These are pruning scissors. They join me for all seasons. Down back roads in winter in search of branches of evergreen for my outdoor planters, in the spring for pussy willow sprigs to remind me summer is coming, the summer for roadside daisies, and fall for trimming back my gardens for the long winter ahead.

As the tour of my household scissors comes to a conclusion it has been a wonderful reminder of how two pieces of metal and plastic /wood have been so influential in my day to day, my creative spirit and my adventures into the wild. Gotta love those scissors.

art

About the Creator

Rachel

Lover of crafts, nature and creativity.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rachel Written by Rachel

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.