Viva logo

I Thought There Would Be More Blood

*Content may be triggering*

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
26
https://pixabay.com/users/surprising_shots-11873433/

I thought there would be more blood.

Don't get me wrong, the blood came. The pain, the guilt, the confusion, rage, sadness, guilt- hell; the whole smorgasbord of emotions piled on top of me until I couldn't take a deep breathe without every mote of willpower I had.

But, at the beginning, in that first moment of clarity that something terrible had just happened, when I hoped through my my disbelieving certainty; I thought there would be more blood.

~

I'd just moved into the comfy-pants midpoint of my second pregnancy. You know that point? It's when you still gag at the smell of, well for me it was the smell of everything but for normal people usually just one or two strong smells. Like maybe raw meat, or chili. So; you still gag but sometimes you can keep down food for, what? maybe ten minutes at a time before it comes roiling back up.

But people; your friends, your mom, your doctors- they all tell you it's fine. That the baby gets everything that it needs even if you feel like rubbish 24/7. So you smile and carry on because you know it will be all worth it. You've done this before and isn't she beautiful? Your two year old toddler, the imperious princess of the house, she-who-never-sleeps, your firstborn jewel.

Between the exhaustion and the nausea, and the tugs along your back and sides that shows you your body remembers this from the time before, you know you're halfway to home already. And now that the comfy pants and loose tops are back? Well now, you've got this.

And, honestly, the nausea has eased up a bit over the past few days. Maybe, just maybe, it won't be so bad this second time around.

And that. That thought? The one where you welcomed the easing of pregnancy? That part when you were glad your body wasn't putting up a fight during this pregnancy? That thought would haunt you for years, wouldn't it? You chewed on that selfish, if unknowing, thought for years, tormented yourself for the ignorance of what was happening/had already happened.

You thought things were better but likely they had already become so much worse.

~

It was the back, wasn't it? No; maybe it was the stomach? The ache in the thighs, maybe; the ones that felt so familiar and appeared like clockwork every month for the past 8 years? Whichever and whatever it was I woke from a doze snatched during the princess's naptime and did what a pregnant woman does when she wakes- I went to the bathroom. And I felt it happen.

I thought there would be more blood.

A pulling, not painful, perhaps pressure is more correct? A pressure and I knew. I reached my hand between my legs and felt the slight presence and warmth in the palm of my cradled hand.

Then I looked.

I thought there would be more blood. But there was, then, just watery pink. Watery pink and a translucent ruffle of.. of what? Of something that should not be in my hand. Of something that had been carried under my heart, swaddled in my depths, knitted inside my body, lived a life imagined in my dreams.

I thought there would be more blood. But what there was, then, was our last moment with just the two of us. Before frantic calls and rushed car drive, before finding a neighbor for the princess and filling out forms, before the calling of friends and the asking of why, before the sleepless nights, the tears, the emptiness; there was a moment with just the two of us.

I didn't know, and I still don't: was that you, there, in my hand? Or was it a part of your home, faulty, defective, traitorous, my body torn and tearing, following the path out of my body as discarded cells had poured out over the years in rivers of red?

I do know I cradled that slickly gossamer bit in my hand all the way to the hospital. I surrendered it on intake with one last teary thought of 'I'm so sorry, I'm so sorry, I'm so sorry.'

What happened then? Was it tested? Discarded? Catalogued? Labeled? Photographed? Smeared on a slide? Burnt with the refuse of the ward? Matched against the evacuation of my body the next day to empty me of the only home I ever gave you? I don't know.

I don't know. I don't know. I don't know.

Still today, all these years, I feel the ache of you in my joints, across my back, the implausible weight of that tiny scrap in my hand. The magnificent hopes for you. The inhospitable instability of my treacherous body to complete you and keep you safe until you could be properly launched into life.

I see you in your sisters’ faces, hear your echoes in the stories of women confiding their pain, touch you again in my deepest dreams when carrying your weight cupped in my hands.

You were mine, once. You were and then you weren't, and all the tears I could ever cry wouldn't wash away my grief.

I thought there would be more blood.

~

Even this abbreviated life, one that passed through my life like a boat that almost set shore, changed me. I am not the same person that wept on that car ride to the hospital, not the same person that gave birth to another princess the next year. All lives that we encounter leave their mark.

Please click on the wee heart if my writing clicked with you, and drop in a comment to share your thoughts!

healthfamilybody
26

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    My whole body hurts for you. This was a raw release of the utmost pain and loss. The overwhelming confusion and hope, even years after, rings through this piece. Incredibly powerful writing. 💗😭

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    This is deeply touching and unforgettable. ❤️

  • Wonderful words, sending hugs for this Judey

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Gorgeously penned. I'm sorry. Sending a big big hug your way.

  • Jason Ray Morton about a year ago

    Very touching story. I can't imagine.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was beautiful. I felt so much reading this. Your grief, your emotions really came across. My heart goes out to you.

  • This is such a whelming story, the tears are just streaming down my cheeks. I use the word "whelming" rather than "overwhelming" advisedly. To me "overwhelming is a deluge that hits you once & then it's over. "Whelming" feels more like being caught just a little too far out into the ocean, fighting against the undertow as one wave after another comes sweeping over your head, barely giving you time to breathe in between, rarely to clear your eyes. Do you have anyone who is sensitive to the grief you bear, someone who will simply sit with you without saying a word when those waves begin to whelm? Or do you feel as though you need treat it lightly so as not to distress those around you, acting as though it's over, done & buried in the past? Afterall, you were able to have another? I pray that your husband is one who is able to be there for you, who will allow himself to grieve with you, understanding how you will at times blame yourself, reassuring you gently & tenderly that it's not your fault, permitting you to hold him just as you allow him to hold you. I am glad you shared this with us, that you have been willing to be so vulnerable, granting us the space to grieve with you. I hesitate to say this, for fear it might lessen the import of what you have shared. But right now, for me, this is the best & most powerful entry in this challenge. I also hesitate to mention this, but I want this story you have shared to be as perfect as it can be. In the third to last paragraph, not counting the postscript, you have, "I see you in your sister's faces...." Since faces is plural, I had a hunch, but I waited to confirm that you'd given birth to another daughter. Since you have, I assume you mean, "sisters' faces." Incredibly well-written, painful in its beauty. My thoughts & prayers are with you.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Judey- this was a powerful story, and sadly one I can relate to. It brought tears to my eyes as you wrote the grief so perfectly. Thank you sharing. This is something that I wish was talked about more. I loved your last paragraph and felt it to my core.

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Judey ~ Often it is said, "I know how you feel"...But, I couldn't possibly - a tough one to tell - but masterfully! - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Wow, my daughter-in-law had a baby girl, who is now 3. After 2 miscarriages she will not have more as it is just too painful. You explained it so well. I am truly sorry and thank you❤️

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    What incredibly powerful imagery and emotion! Thank you for allowing us to grieve with you.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    I can only imagine. Your story made me pause, and think about what you must have gone through. Such a beautiful heartfelt and emotional piece

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Powerful 😢

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my goodness, that made me cry. I'm sorry for you loss. This is incredibly well-written, heartbreaking story. Thank you for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.