The Swamp logo

My First Caucus

At 40, I finally made it to a caucus in my party. And I volunteered.

By Eileen DavisPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
1
My First Caucus
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

This year the Utah Republican Party decided to do a presidential poll at their caucus meetings instead of a primary ballot. Personally, my husband and I were disappointed because it means fewer people would vote due to difficulties to attend a caucus meeting. We've always had children too young to care for themselves, so we rarely made it to any political functions.

I had to look up the polling place for my precinct online because I had seen no advertisements. I begrudgingly convinced my husband to come with me to the precinct caucus. At the door, they had a QR code to register. We tried a couple times before I could prove I'm in the Republican party, but my husband's results said he was unaffiliated. I believe that was an error because I believe he's received Republican Primary ballots before. This really frustrated us, but computer errors happen. (BTW, Utah requires voters to register parties beforehand.)

Reluctantly, I told my husband to go home and pick me up later. I'd darn well participate because I went through all the effort to get there, though I still wanted my best friend with me to discuss matters.

At one door, the volunteers told me I was at the wrong room. One directed me down another hallway to a school lunchroom. I entered nervously. When I finally sat down, the opening reel about the party platform had finished. I was on time to choose a presidential candidate though! The volunteers discussed voting who the next precinct officers and delegates would be. Since I'd never been to a caucus, I remained confused and used the wrong colored paper to list the state delegates.

I debated who to vote for the Presidential candidate and filled out the circle for a different candidate then I initially thought of. Whatever outcome happened on Super Tuesday, I knew I had tried.

We voted in a precinct president and vice president without any opposition. I didn't know who these people were; they seemed to know what they were doing. Then came time for choosing state delegates. I raised my hand because the Education Officer kept asking if there was anyone else, and I want to become more politically involved. Then each candidate (and a representative) each gave a one minute spiel. I listened to the others trying to formulate what I'd say.

Speaking as the last state delegate candidate, words fell out about being open to new ideas, liking Utah Governor Spencer Cox, and being born during the Reagan years.

Who knows what I actually said.

We chose ranked-choice voting for the state delegates, and I put myself as the third on my ballot because others seemed more competent.

Then the Education Officer moved onto voting for the precinct secretary. When I thought no one else had volunteered, I volunteered. After all, the description of communicating with others appealed to me. Next, the Education Officer said let's take a vote between the current secretary and me. I felt embarrassed sitting alone in the back because I thought no one had volunteered. Well, the current secretary remained in, which suits my half-shy nature.

Not enough people volunteered for county delegates, so I volunteered and am now a county delegate. No competition. I shyly approached the front to discover what my next steps would be. When I had a discussion with some about the governor race, one person mentioned there were several reasons why Spencer Cox wasn't the ideal candidate. Then I remembered I mentioned Gov. Cox in my speech (who some Republicans consider as too liberal). I'd set myself up for that. Anyway, I am open for discussions about the other candidates who are willing to work with others. Since I am only a county delegate, my opinion on Cox won't affect party convention outcome anyway.

I took home multiple brochures for county candidates and instructional papers to study. While I waited for my husband to pick me up, I studied several, which all seem similar. Later this month, I will go to a meet-and-greet so that should help me know the county candidates better. I will have delegate training too.

Now, I ask what I committed myself to for the next two years. I hate/want to put myself out there, despite my nervousness. I'm excited to learn more about the political process, so I can make a small difference. And I encourage you all to participate in your election process too.

If you are a Democrat, I ask for donations to pay for my 10-20 minute trips around the county ;). If you are a Republican, I ask for donations to pay for my 10-20 minute trips around the county. All kidding aside, I appreciate tips or you can follow me for free. (All social media links in my bio.)

votingwomen in politicsopinion
1

About the Creator

Eileen Davis

Writer. Blogger. Poet. Avid reader. Boy mom. Have bipolar 2. Experience bisexual attraction. News Junkie. Love America. Love China. English language BA from BYU. Follow me on X, Facebook, Medium, or my blog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    What an interesting experience! Glad you’re a registered voter 😳

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.