The Swamp logo

If the Devil Wins, No More News for Me

Instead, I'll have a whole new mantra

By Sherry McGuinnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
If the Devil Wins, No More News for Me
Photo by Thibault Penin on Unsplash

Look. There’s only so much a person…and a country can take. At this juncture, here in the U.S., votes for the 20/20 Presidential election are still being tabulated and will be throughout the day. Everyone who’ve I’ve talked to is wiped out. Beyond drained. In mind, body and spirit.

Optimistically, and stupidly, I was expecting a landslide. Hoping for one at the very least. The fact that this Presidential election is so tight, scares the living hell out of me to the point where I can barely breathe. I wonder now, like never before, who I’m living amongst. Who are these people who still don’t get it? Who could possibly believe that Donald Trump should be a two-term President?

I hate them.

The Washington Post reported that the majority of U.S. citizens feel that the state of our economy is a primary concern, OVER the pandemic. Do people not understand the economy is in shambles because of the pandemic? Because a despicable, fraudulent individual covered it up? What’s not to get, here?

Fellow Dems, what are we going to do if Biden/Harris loses? How can we live knowing what’s to come? Doom. That’s what we can expect, at an even greater level than what we’ve experienced thus far.

A psychopath who, in the wee hours, declared himself the winner, could, once more, take up residence in the Oval Office. Along with his entire crime family. More Ivanka! More Melania! More of his dumb-dumb, animal-slaughtering sons! My stomach roils at the thought.

My husband and I have made a pact. Should the unthinkable occur and we might as well face the fact that it can, we will do our best to never watch or read the news, again. No more CNN or MSNBC. No more New York Times or Washington Post. No more Apple alerts on our phones. Nothing. A moratorium on current events, so that we may live.

You read that right. So that we may live. A person can be sick to their soul for only so long before they crack. We already know how extreme anxiety manifests in the body. A slow erosion of organs and cells and nerve endings leading to disease. And I’ll be damned if I get cancer again because of Donald Trump.

At some point, we need to kick into survival mode and the last few months and years under the Trump White House have delivered a blow of such magnitude that we may never recover.

There’s much to be said for avoidance, my friends. If you’ve been glued to the news outlets twenty-four-seven as we’ve been in this household, you’ll understand where I’m coming from.

Think about it. Imagine the crowing and the name-calling and the “Sleepy Joe” references if the bastard wins. Can you stomach that? His final rally was more of a lousy stand-up routine than anything else. Something for the Vegas strip. Exactly what we’ve come to expect from a failed reality TV “star.”

Sadly, I can longer trust many of “my fellow Americans,” because they have, and are continuing to prove themselves to be as hateful and racist and ignorant as their leader. And I will be looking over my shoulder for the rest of my life.

This is not the country I grew up in. The Americans I knew then would never put up for this absolute shit show of a life. Never. We fought. We protested. We weren’t afraid to get pissed-off and show it. We didn’t knuckle under to cheap, two-bit dictators or conmen. We were better than that.

Now, we are a nation of pussies and lemmings. I am ashamed of this, but as I said, if the worst occurs, I can no longer care what happens to them, because I want to try to live, for as long as I can, unsullied by the dirt and the hatred this disaster of a human being has wrought. This pestilence on two legs.

So, throughout this day, I will continue to monitor the returns and do my best to hope for the best. And if things don’t go the way that they must, for us to have any chance of climbing out of the collective grave that has been dug over the last four years, then “Goodbye, CNN. Hello Netflix. I wish I could say it’s been fun, but I’m done.”

Because it really will be “every man, and woman, for themselves.”

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Sherry McGuinn

I'm a long-time, Chicago area writer and big-time dreamer. I'm also an award-winning screenwriter, cat Mama and red lip aficionado.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.