The Swamp logo

The Solution to Pervasive Hate is More Sex

And a bigger melting pot

By Sherry McGuinnPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Dogs of a different color. Source: Flickr.Com

God almighty, people suck. But not you guys.

Someone bash me over the head with a blunt object. I just spent twenty minutes on LinkedIn reading comments from racist, ignorant individuals, most of them hiding behind their MBAs. Why? Because someone had the temerity to post the official White House photo of Vice President Kamala Harris. That’s why.

A simple, elegant image that incited hate speech to the extent where I’m of the belief that this country, America, is plunging into the toilet faster than we can say, “Enjoy the go.”

Before you wonder if I jumped into the fray, I’ll admit that I did. Briefly and rationally. Or as close to it as I get when personally attacked. And then I received the ultimate “compliment.” One particularly ignorant twat referred to me as “unemployed,” because my profile refers to me as a “freelancer,” which I am. With “free” being the operative word, most of the time. But that doesn’t mean I’m unemployed. I’m working right now.

If I didn’t sufficiently drive this home in the past, let me reiterate: Writing on Medium is work. As with any other job where, in an ideal world, a top-performing employee would be recognized for their efforts. As I said, in an “ideal world.”

So let that sink in. The nasty woman commenter took the time to check out my profile in order to publicly skewer me. This is someone who sells molding. A “highly creative and enriching endeavor,” but no doubt a lucrative one as who doesn’t need molding, right?

If there’s any justice, and we already know that’s in precious supply, a huge chunk of that molding will land on her pointy head one of these days, ridding us of one more, ignorant asshole.

Also, I was gobsmacked by the stupidity that another individual displayed on a site where his employer could potentially read his comment, which was the following: “Kamala Harris got where she is because of the color of her skin!”

Jim Crow is alive and well and enjoying every minute of this travesty we’ve sustained for far too long. Look at him, sitting on his front porch, suckin’ down moonshine and checking off yet another atrocity on his to-do list.

Honestly, if I didn’t have you to vent to, I think I’d have experienced a cardiac episode long ago. As it is, my heart is racing now because many of the LI comments I read were so outwardly racist, that I feel as if I’ve been catapulted back into the 50s, as in the new Amazon series, “Them,” where a black family moves to the East Compton area of California in order to have a “better life,” and the horrors that ensue are so unsettling that I found myself shouting at the TV. Shouting, and not-for-the-first time, ashamed to be “white.”

Yeah, this is a TV show. Reel life as opposed to “real,” but if you want to know why “they” hate us, watch this. Be forewarned though. It’s intense.

I don’t understand this hater mentality and inbred mistrust of anyone who isn’t like us. Anyone who doesn’t look or talk or think like us. We’re long beyond the “people being afraid of what they don’t understand” bullshit because that’s what it is. A crock. Yet the question remains, what are people so scared of?

Humans are made up of all colors, sizes, ethnicities, and sexual orientations. Why isn’t this a good thing? My blood runs red, the same as a black woman’s. My body is made up of skin, bones, sinew, muscles, ligaments, and organs, the same as an Asian woman’s, or Native American, or Hispanic. Like any other human being, I’m trying to navigate this “journey” the best I can. And, just like so many others, I’ve experienced my share of failures, as well as triumphs.

Why isn’t this a good thing? Something to be embraced, and not feared? Something to be shared and examined and learned from?

Because, in spite of years of schooling and relatively decent upbringings, speaking broadly, people are stupid AF and misinformed. Case in point: The majority of the hater comments on LI were from Trump supporters who still believe that the 2020 election was stolen.

Online savagery isn’t news. Several writers, including myself, have recently written about the plethora of hate-spewing trolls infecting social media platforms like bedbugs in a NoTell Motel.

It’s time to act. Enough ranting and complaining. None of it helps, anyway. Fuel to the fire, and all that. Instead, I have a suggestion that I believe could salvage the U.S. Fish it out of the toilet and rinse off the steaming pile of shit that has noses all over the world stopped up with our stank.

My solution is a simple one: More interracial fucking…excuse me, fornicating, and procreating. Now hold on, don’t get your undies in a bunch. I’m suggesting this to a certain segment of our society. This isn’t for everyone. Of course not. And, as you know, I would never suggest anything untoward.

I’m targeting my message to you sexually active single people who are seeking a partner to navigate this thing called “life,” and who also want to have kids.

Now that wasn’t so terrible, was it?

But there’s more to this than just screwing and spawning. I’m suggesting that we mix up the gene pool to such an extent that no one cares about the color of another individual’s skin, to the point where we can’t “tell” if someone is African American, Native American, Asian, Hispanic, Indian, or any other ethnicity. Let’s truly make American the melting pot that it professes to be.

As naive as this sounds, just imagine for a moment what could be achieved. You look at me. I look at you. Neither of us gives a shit that you’re green and I’m blue. Or that my grandparents were immigrants and yours came over on the Mayflower.

None of it matters because, like a rainbow, we’re more beautiful together. Color upon color upon color.

Okay. I can’t believe that came out of me. Full stop. Deep breath…

So once again, imagine what life could be like if we evolve to the point where we’re color blind. No more hurled racial epithets. No more spouting crap about accomplished people of color getting where they are because of their skin tone. No more black men pulled over for bullshit traffic violations by cops who aren’t receiving the proper psychological and emotional support required to do a job where the slip of a hand could result in the taking of a life.

A Taser and a gun are two different beasts, after all.

No more Asians beaten up and worse, killed, as a result of the ignorant comments generated by a treasonous, sexist, racist, pussy-grabber of an ex-President.

Naturally, this societal about-face would take some time, but we have more of that now, no?

Again, my plan is for the singletons amongst us, as opposed to those encumbered by partners who would look askance at their beloved initiating sexy time outside of their relationships.

Naturally, I’m exempt as I’m married and also, beyond the point where I could give birth to a baby of any color. I don’t think menopause will reverse itself anytime soon. Of course,

But the rest of you, now — you can do this! You can help change the world just by engaging in an activity you already enjoy. Sex! Of course, like always, it's paramount to be safe and if you don’t know how to do that, you’re too young for this venture. Talk to me in a couple of years.

Sex and more sex. And not just “vanilla” sex. Chocolate sex. General Tso sex. Spicy Enchilada sex. Vindaloo sex. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

Think “sex smorgesbord.”

I truly believe this is doable. That we can create a society of Rainbow People. And, like anything worth doing, this will take work, but I know you’re up to it. Gird your loins, so to speak.

The gene pool is one big, glorious hot spring. Steaming and teeming with possibilities. At the risk of mixing metaphors — screw it — are you ready to take the plunge and help make America a true melting pot?

Good. The rest of us are counting on you to fuck often, fuck colorfully, and birth babies that will make us proud. That will one day grow up and incite the kind of change we never thought possible.

Better get started. We don’t have a lot of time to waste.

© Sherry McGuinn, 2021. All Rights Reserved.

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Sherry McGuinn

I'm a long-time, Chicago area writer and big-time dreamer. I'm also an award-winning screenwriter, cat Mama and red lip aficionado.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.