Psyche logo

When parents grow old, please swap roles

If one day you find that some of your old parents' habits are no longer habits ........., just like when they no longer want to bathe regularly ......

By Holly D SalterPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
When parents grow old, please swap roles
Photo by Laura Vinck on Unsplash

  If you grew up in an ordinary family.

As your parents grow old, please role swap If your parents are still alive; whether you live with them or not.

  If one day you notice that your mother's kitchen is not as clean as it used to be.

  If one day you notice that the dishes in the house don't seem to be washed.

  If one day you find that your mother's pots and pans are no longer shining.

  If one day you find that your father's plants and trees have fallen into disuse.

  If one day you find that the floors and cupboards in your home are often covered with dust.

  If one day you find that your mother's cooking is too salty and unpalatable.

  If one day you find that your parents often forget to turn off the gas.

  If one day you find that some of your old parents' habits are no longer habits ........., just like when they no longer want to take a bath regularly ......

  If one day you find that your parents no longer love to eat green and crunchy fruits and vegetables

  If one day you find that your parents love rottenly cooked vegetables.

  If one day you find out that your parents like to eat thin rice.

  If one day you notice that they are slower to cross the street.

  If one day you notice that they cough a lot during mealtime, don't mistake it for a cold or flu (that's the aging of the swallowing nerve).

  If one day you find that they no longer like to go out...

  I want to tell you that you should be aware that your parents are old and their organs have deteriorated to the point that they need to be taken care of.

  We need to take care of our parents with a sense of role reversal so that we can be patient and not complain. When parents are unable to take care of themselves, children should be alert to the fact that they may be incontinent, they may not be able to do many things well, and if there is an odor in the room, they may not be able to smell it themselves, so please do not dislike them for being dirty or disgusted.

  When they no longer like to bathe, please take time to wash their bodies regularly, because even if they wash, they may not be able to clean themselves. When we are enjoying food, please prepare a small bowl for them that is the right size and easy to chew, because they may not like to eat because their teeth can't bite.

  From the time we are born, we are fed and diapered, cared for sleeplessly when we are sick, taught the basic skills of life, and provided with books, food, drink, and tutoring, the care, and action never stop.

  If one day, they really can't move, isn't it right to switch roles? Those who are children should remember that looking at their parents is looking at their future, and filial piety should be timely.

  If one day, you are as old as they are, how do you want to live?

  Are you now a single parasite, a married double, or multiple parasites? Have you ever paid attention to your parents? Please care and pay attention to their aging process, and don't forget to spend more time with your mom and dad ...... to care more about them! (Don't yell at them too often)

  I'd rather you stay with me for a few more minutes while I'm still alive than after I'm dead, you'll be watching for me all night.

  I'd rather you hold my hand tenderly while I'm still alive than cry on my torso after I'm dead.

  I'd rather you call me even once while I'm still alive than visit me often after I'm dead.

  I would rather you had said a few words of encouragement to me while I was still alive than recite that heartbreaking poem at my funeral after my death.

  I would rather that you would whisper a prayer for me while I am still alive than that you would write a poetic epitaph for me after my death.

  I would rather have you talk with me while I am still alive than read a long tribute to me after my death.

  I'd rather hear you shyly tell me how you feel about me while I'm still alive, rather than after I'm dead and you regret opening your mouth in the first place.

  Cherish the present, we are still with our loved ones around us at least today.

vintage
1

About the Creator

Holly D Salter

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.