Psyche logo

What I Do When I Am Having a Rough Day

It may not be what you would do.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 27 days ago 4 min read
7
What I Do When I Am Having a Rough Day
Photo by Memento Media on Unsplash

How do you begin to turn things around after a rough day? Rupi Kaur Gratitude Writing Prompts

For me, this is something I put into practice many years ago. I take fifteen minutes, maybe twenty minutes, and hang out with it. What is it exactly that is going on? Is there something I can do about it? Is it worth crying over? Is it worth swearing about? Will I feel better crying/swearing? Yes. Okay, do it!

Sometimes it means going outside, calling a friend, talking to the hubby, planning to go to a meeting, and then dropping it until then.

Once my time is over, I have to move on. A rough day doesn’t get to have my whole day. I learned I have to live in this day only. I can make plans for the future; I can recall the past, but I never stay there. Living in today makes it so much easier.

When I started staying in the present, I used to say the serenity prayer over and over again. “God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.” That worked for me to get me into the present.

By Alex Shute on Unsplash

When we are living in the future, we worry about things that will probably never happen. If we are living in the past, of course, there is sadness.

Somehow, I never dwelled on the good stuff though, always the trauma, grief, and loss. When I gave myself time to grieve for a time each day, it ended.

It resolved. I dealt with past trauma, I forgave, I didn’t forget everything, nor should you, but I could move on and not be stuck in the past. Today, I do live in the present. I never used to. This way, the rough day doesn’t last.

What is a rough day now? I think about something I said in the moment or have to say something due to being hurt or everyday things that come up, like a concern over my truck having a recall.

Then there is a loved one ill, in the hospital, a diagnosis. An oncology appointment. Can I set it down after a brief time with it? Yes.

With anxiety, I know it is important to breathe. I want to laugh every day and cry when it is appropriate. Sometimes it is daily. The world is in trouble. But do I have to stay there? No. I have gone there with this topic. I won’t stay.

My truck is going in to have the recall fixed. Hubby and I are going out to lunch, we are going to visit our grandson and his baby in their new place. That is moving on.

Work on taxes is later today. I have put it off too long this year. It took a while to get everything we needed. Places are booked, so I am going to do our taxes this year. Sound confident? I am not. However, it doesn’t have to consume my day.

I have nine days to get taxes done and I am hopeful that a week will be enough, and I will have time to get them where they need to go. Wouldn’t it be nice if I could get them done this weekend? Maybe I will make that as a goal. I have no definite plans for this weekend.

My daily practice is doing a daily inventory, and planning a repair if need be. I believe in prayer and meditation or talking to a higher power. I say/write a gratitude list most days. That is why these writing prompts interested me.

Then I work with others. I do the working with others in many ways. It helps me to focus on doing for others.

This month I organized a fundraiser on Facebook for Team Carrie Powwow For Hope, raising funds for the American Indian Cancer Foundation. That fundraising end date is May 4, 2024, this year.

Last month I had a Poem a Day in February. It helps people do grief work, even if they don’t realize it. When I take the focus off of me, my life goes better. It turns the rough day around almost every time.

Feeling sorry for self and thankfulness is the chip my husband drew for us to work on today. He said it has been a while since this one. It is nice to have a focus each day. I think it goes along with this topic nicely.

The chips are helpful for him. He gives them to guys he sponsors. I get to be involved too, as he pulls me in by letting me know every day what chip we will be working on. I told him I had most of them down. Then he says he put this one in just for me!

~~~~

First published by Mindful Mental Health on medium.com

selfcaresupporthow toanxiety
7

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll27 days ago

    I love this story. You utilized your support system well. Procrastinating is everyone’s thing when dealing with an uncomfortable task ahead.

  • It's so nice that you live in the present. I tend to live in the past 😅 This piece was so positive, just like you!

  • “M”27 days ago

    Thank you for sharing this

  • Ameer Bibi27 days ago

    Well written article about anxiety and it management.

  • Babs Iverson27 days ago

    Fantastic how to & advice!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.