Psyche logo

We all have color in our Personalities

In society, many get shunned for being who they are, but if we look into each others hearts, we all have different colours within our personalities.

By Carol TownendPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
3
We all have color in our Personalities
Photo by Ana Cruz on Unsplash

I'm walking down the street, and there is a person walking down the same street. That person is dressed in gothic clothing and has many tattoos. People are horrified, calling him names such as 'druggie, Psycho, crazy' and more. They are bullying him for simply dressing in his own style. I have come across this on a severe level in my young past when I started listening to different types of music such as rock, metal, reggae, dance, and rave. I was used to wearing t-shirts that represented all of my most favourite bands, and I was deemed to be an outcast for it and treated like I wasn't human. Of course, we all have our own likes and dislikes, and we all have our own tastes, but does this mean that we as humans have to treat another human in degrading ways just because we 'don't fit their groups?' Shouldn't people be allowed to just be themselves? It makes one wonder what it really means to be human. In the gothic world, people are labelled, all kinds of different things, and most assume they are violent horrible people, but I have many friends who enjoy the gothic scene, many who have children and have very caring natures, who wouldn't dream of hurting other people or doing drugs. Of course, there does seem to be some significance in certain groups where behaviours like this seem to be prominent, however, is this truly attached to those people, or is it attached to other problems in their personal lives?

People of today, enjoy fashion and make-up trends which we either see in magazines and media, from those in the industry and celebrities who feature a wide and enormous brand of fashion that we consider 'trendy.' Many young people follow these trends, the majority of who I have spoken to who have said they 'simply enjoy it.' I got the same response from those who associate their clothing with the music that they listen to. There have been past days like the 60s and 70s when the whole scene was about drugs, sex, and rock and roll which passed a trend down to future generations. For example, there were plenty of people in the dance scene in the 90s who did associate this scene with drugs, drink and crime, though there were also others who didn't behave in this way. I remember attending the After Darks teen scene in a town where I lived when I was a young teenager, I used to go with a group of friends, and we would drink non-alcoholic drinks and dance all night. The club was for young ravers and techno-heads who enjoyed that kind of music, and while there were some who were doing drugs, there were others who simply wanted a good night out. The result of this? Coming out of the club, we got branded druggies and seen as bad people.

Sexuality is a concept that is more widely accepted today, though there are certain terms like bisexual which I still feel are misunderstood. I am a married bisexual woman who has been married to a man for many years. I still have a strong sexual attraction to both, and when I talk about this people jump to all kind of conclusions, such as assuming that we want a threesome because we are married. This might suit some, but it isn't for me. My sexuality just means I have the gift of choice and choose which gender I want to be intimate with. Of course, the sexual attraction to women is always there, but it doesn't mean that I want both. That to me is like saying if my man is attracted to other women while we are married, he should sleep with her. This is not the case though; my man does enjoy my sexuality, we talk about women all the time, and we even have laughed when I find myself attracted to men, but it doesn't mean we are unfaithful or into swinging; it means we can embrace and acknowledge our sexual sides to its fullest and still enjoy a close, loving relationship together.

I have friends who are transgender, and they get looked down on like they are the demons of the earth. One of my friends was a female who wanted to be a male for many long years. My friend was so depressed with this, that when they were female, they hated coming outside. My friend was deeply uncomfortable in their own body, and they hated school because of that and going out. It wasn't that they hated women, they had many female friends. It was more frustrating because they didn't like the body they had. My friend had issues seeing their bodies naked, because they couldn't accept it, and while many disagree, I as a woman, couldn't imagine living with a body that I was uncomfortable in. When we went out together, my friend was ridiculed to a point where they almost gave up on themselves. A person changing their gender does not stop them from being that loving, caring, person you already know, and they still have feelings because they are still human, which means they deserve to be treated with respect and dignity too.

It is the same with mental health, a person may have the same problem as another person but that doesn't make them as violent or abusive. Mental health affects individuals differently, some might have problems associated with a personality disorder, yet display different behaviours to that of another individual diagnosed with the same problem. However, because of the way symptoms are classified, people jump to the wrong conclusions. I have been accused of being violent through past diagnosis and PTSD, often because I have been in situations where I have been attacked, and I've had to defend myself for my own safety, but as my husband and friends would tell you, I am not a violent person, I am a very soft person who hates violence of any form.

There is the same problem with certain professions. If you write certain things such as erotic novels, then you are seen as unfit to work in some professions and the same goes for parenting. However, like myself, many parents and professionals take care to ensure their children don't get hold of their 'adult work.' I myself have taken some of my work down from sites where I feel children may be exposed, this can be a difficult task, but as soon as I see that, I take it off. I have only just started so I am learning the rules which are now more complicated, but I still take steps to ensure my work lies on adult eyes only. However, I am not going to stop enjoying my adult natured pleasures. We are sexual beings and our needs change when we reach adults, it's more about responsibility than being treated like children ourselves. Most sites are marking adult content as NSFW, however, some sites are still not doing this. NSFW (Reddit are doing this, which is good) is a good way of protecting children and others from adult content. However, as well as asking if one is over 18, of which they simply confirm by clicking a button, it would be a good idea for sites to ask for documentary proof of age also.

Our personalities are the colours of the rainbow, and no body should be treated like trash just because they are different. We are supposed to be equals, and it is important to treat every human being as 'equals.'

I write on many issues as well as fiction, mental health, families and adult themed content. If you like my work here, please heart and share it. You can tip me if you want to, but this is optional.

You can also read more of my work at https://vocal.media/authors/carol-townend

humanity
3

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.