Psyche logo

Visions

Preternatural

By Jonathan TownendPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Visions
Photo by Hamish Weir on Unsplash

The beginning.

Maybe some do believe in this and maybe some do not. Maybe the viewpoint governing this is due to many things, religion, our strength of emotions simply just trying to help us cope, an ingrained idea that 'if you cannot see it, then that is it (plain and simple), or that it is just merely a fabrication within our own minds, this is my account of what I went through - just what I envisaged as a 10-year-old boy after losing my father to suicide 4 months earlier - a terrifying loss due to suicide in mid-1980.

If you have not already read my primary article leading into this, please do view & heart this before reading & hearting this one at:

https://vocal.media/psyche/time-to-let-go-sd6hyv0wux and, a subsequent article written and published by my wife here on Vocal at:

https://vocal.media/horror/we-saw-a-real-ghost-and-we-are-not-joking

If you consider that our mind (as a byproduct of your brain's activity) is able to imagine purely as a result of it evolving over our own life growth timescale, to perceive the world and our family unit within it, act in the world, and social actions around us creating our memories, and physical events around us, where it then can learn to evaluate possible future actions based on variations of those memories of the results of prior actions. Being able to acknowledge and comprehend this, then, and only at that point, you will be in a better position to see how preternatural visions can hold a more valid existence - playing out in the human evolutionary period.

By Bret Kavanaugh on Unsplash

We are already aware today (although still limited by the slow growth of clinical research) of the subject interest around the Endocannibidiol System (ECS) which the human body has many receptor cells throughout - all connecting to the brain, being able to interact with the brain itself and directly influencing nerve areas in our direct perception of both physical & mental pains.

The link below is an earlier article worth reading around this subject at:

https://vocal.media/potent/therapy-benefits-of-cbd-use

Research carried out in 2013, suggested that around 65% of Americans believe that we only use 10 percent of our brain. But this is just a myth, according to an interview with a neurologist who stated clearly that '.. majority of the brain is almost always active' (Scientific American, B. Gordon, Neurologist) Backed by (D. Weatherspoon, Ph.D., R.N., CRNA) and written by (A. Pietrangelo) updated on (September 18, 2018). The human brain, at today's research exploration & development stage simply advocates that a considerable occupancy of the brain is still to remain untapped.

Taking into account the available information available to us today, it is wholly impractical to say in a clear-cut statement that, visions from the after-life are impossible, untrue, or put more simply pure fairy tales - made up within the minds of others.

Moving aside from this until a little later within my article (which is controversial due to the beliefs, or none-beliefs) of others. Here once again though, the point being is that a large number of the human population will not believe something unless they see it or hear it themselves - not willing to simply accept even the same beliefs or non-beliefs of those talking about an event

Remember, it does not matter if you do not feel that what you believe, is not believed by others around you. Not everyone will believe. It may be that you might need to attempt to tell them what you saw, what you felt, heard, smelt, or sensed within you, with more commitment in how you let them that much more. And moreover, does it truly matter if someone does not feel the same way as you do - the human population indigenous to Earth are all individuals. As an example of this from the viewpoint of other planets within our Sol system - in the very early days when some of our planets were discovered by English astronomer Sir William Herschel in 1781 (Mercury, Venus Mars, Jupiter and, Saturn) some did not quite believe until they were provided with a more committed explanation.

So to the event. After you have hopefully read 'Time To Let Go' (first link as above) you will see that months after that event, I was successful at being enrolled at the Sacred Heart College in Droitwich (Wychavon district) six miles (although sadly now closed following declining pupil admissions) from my family home in Worcester (Hereford & Worcestershire) embarking on my secondary education. The school had been a roman catholic private school - and was solely run and led by priests of the same religion. In my first year, one of the priests who took me for religious education (RE) had asked our class to present a religious composition based on or around any experiences we had experienced within our young lives so far. I decided to set about writing mine around what I saw one night - just six months after the death of my father.

'3:00 in the early hours.' I had been woken from sleep at such an unearthly time. Usually, I slept quite soundly every night, after time had gone by after the tragic suicide death that had struck our family months before. When I work, I was shivering from cold, but my mum had always ensured that the central heating was on through the night to keep our grade 1 listed Georgian home warm - I certainly knew it had been on because I always got ready for bed by the radiator in my bedroom because I had always identified loneliness with the sense of cold, following my father's untimely death. I sat up but then froze to that spot where I had got to. A faint amber hue becoming slowly brighter & brighter, more defined its building spectrum. Within this amber hue, a hazy image began to very slowly form from within its very centre. As the image began to frame itself it was getting steadily much more clear in clarity and depth; high in the ceiling of my bedroom locating itself at the far opposite of where I was sat up fearing what was happening to me.

Ghost-like within its growing image, it began to translate into a view of my father. I really do not know how or why this was happening to me, in my bedroom in the here and now, and I could not relate to how long this initial amber hue had taken to fully form. I know that I still was feeling very much cold but, I no longer was shivering and the early sense of inner fear had (as quickly as it had come) had now completely vanished, as if it had never been there. The image of my father slowly began to utter words calmly, slowly, and very gently:

'It is going to be okay now son. You will always remember me as I was before, but my time here is no more. See me and always remember me within your very heart forevermore. I am sorry that I left you but one day when you are older you may come to understand why this happened.'

'I will love you forever and I am sorry you lost me in your young life. Forever your loving Dad.'

I quickly began to return to sleep soon after this vision. But suddenly smiling in contentment, something I had never felt before up until then.

This excerpt is taken from my RE composition book (Year one, 'Jonnies form group', Sacred Heart College, 1981.)

My father had committed suicide on his way to work that morning long ago now. He had driven under a seldom-used bridge location very near to where I had started secondary school, after connecting a hosepipe to his car exhaust then running the other end through his driver side window, taping up the gaps. H turned on the car engine. Later found and pronounced dead at the scene from Carbon Monoxide poisoning, shortly after a passer-by had discovered his vehicle. A scrawny hand-written message for my mum on the front page of his Holy Missal:

'I love you, Barbara, I am sorry but too late for me now. Remember me.'

From the evidence of the writing style as scrawny as it had been done, the coroner had been led to understand that he had died as he wrote that note - knowing that there was no physical way back for him.

The priest that marked it had signed my composition with an 'A+' and the words:

'Uncanny. Please talk to me later today. So we can talk. Something that was sadly too late for your Dad.'

If you have read this article, please heart it. If you wish to provide a tip please do so, but remember they are lovely and heartfelt, but not obligatory. More of my articles can be found at:

https://vocal.media/authors/jonathan-townend

If you wish to message then please do so at:

[email protected]

coping
2

About the Creator

Jonathan Townend

I love writing articles & fictional stories. They give me scope to express myself and free my mind. After working as a mental health nurse for 30 years, writing allows an effective emotional release, one which I hope you will join me on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.