Psyche logo

Two Women, Side By Side

I need to feel gratitude for the woman on the left.

By Caitlin FladagerPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - May 2022
41

The photo on the left was taken in January 2019 by my daughter. I remember that day clearly. It was 12pm and I had just woken up.

I was drained, I did not want to live to see the next day. I was not the best mother I could be, in that moment.

The woman on the left was late to pick up her kids from school because she was sleeping, too depressed to remember what time it was and keep track of what needed to happen.

The woman on the left drank for all of the wrong reasons, and probably way too much.

The woman on the left made horrible decisions because, well, she just did not care what anyone thought or how she damaged her relationships.

But ... the woman on the left also started therapy right around the time this picture was taken.

The woman on the left worked hard, cried a lot, lost a lot of friends, and spent many hours in the psych ward at the hospital.

The woman on the left, I have grown to love her.

Because she is how I became the woman I am today.

I am the woman on the right.

Ah, that woman, the one on the right.

She looks happy.

She is happy.

But I cannot forget about where she came from, or how I got here.

I cannot forget WHO she came from.

Looking at these two photos side by side, sitting in the same chair, 2.5 years apart, I feel proud.

I also feel sadness looking at the woman on the left, compared to the woman on the right.

But when I feel sad, and that deep regret, I need to remember that the woman on the right, would not be here today if the woman on the left was not so strong.

You see, that woman two years ago was someone I used to hate.

I would compare myself now to her.

How far I’ve come.

How hard I’ve worked.

How much I’ve gained back.

But the truth is, I need to feel gratitude for the woman on the left.

She may have struggled.

She may have lied.

She may not have been the best mother at the time.

But she was strong.

She was resilient.

She was determined to make it through her depression.

And she did.

So now, instead of looking at these two photos comparing one woman as better than the other, I need to remind myself that both women are me.

Both women are strong, loved, and determined.

I now have so much love for the girl on the left, because without her, I would not be the girl on the right.

recovery
41

About the Creator

Caitlin Fladager

Mother | Wife | Mental Health Advocate

Telling my "Reel" truth about marriage & motherhood on Instagram, Facebook, Tiktok & Vocal

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Ashlie Cross2 years ago

    I love this. I can relate w/ the last 2 years my life. I felt like your woman on the left... and I've suddenly started to come out of it. You're amazing! And good job kicking depressions a**! Very inspirational.

  • Stephanie 2 years ago

    Thanks for your story. It's hard to talk about the inside work. I appreciate your honesty and your kindness to yourself. It's inspiring.

  • Test2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this story. Very relatable, as I have been struggling with my mental health for a while too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.