Psyche logo

Thoughts and Ramblings

From the Inner World to the Outer

By TestPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Thoughts and Ramblings
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

I have a fascinating book titled The Portable Therapist. It is a book in a question-and-answer format: questions from clients and answers from the author. One question that comes to my mind, upon deciding to create this story, is "Why Can't the Therapist Fix Me?". I made a choice many years ago to destroy myself psychologically through blaring rock music on top of suffering inflicted by another. Since the behavioral health system is in shambles, it was of little help and most likely made matters worse.

Back to destroying myself. Although it may not have been the smartest of choices, I've learned a lot. I've learned that public tears in the face of those working within the behavioral health system - only shows their fear and bias. Still, it's strange how I need to take responsibility for my psychology, despite, inflictions from others. Through my own fault of bland tolerance.

Another learning is that it is not my problem. That is, fixing what is wrong with the system, government, and other peoples' domestic issues. This allows me to focus on myself. It's a delicate balance while out in society. Humans are social.

Thirdly, it is helpful for me to return to my center, the center of the storm, or happy place - if you will. I'm not exactly sure how I stumbled upon my center. I sometimes listen to the videos of a woman who manages a physical chronic illness. It is from these videos that I learned about having a center.

Ambition is an interesting mechanism to me. It is from this perspective that my next learning may be related. Ambition seems to function, at least for me, in an up-down fashion. That is, pious versus competition. I had a semi-religious upbringing, so I tend to believe in a greater force than myself.

Control is another difficult mechanism to deal with. Staying away from free will versus determinism, I'm coming from a psychological viewpoint. I guess the best way to handle control is to be aware of when it is functioning. Not that control is a bad function; there are useful times for it. It's tricky. I suppose the best way to explain it to use it in opposition and release it for vulnerability.

I have mental health complications. They don't much bother me except that their manifestation was aided by harassment, bullying, stigmatization, and discrimination. I feel like a foreigner to my own American nationality. I live in a region of the United States that is not the state of my birth.

Back to mental disorders. I tend to lean towards Thomas Szasz's perspective, which considers mental illness as a problem of living. I'm not anti-psychiatry. I fall more along the lines of humanistic theories. If people want to assist others, then they themselves need to be aware when they are being biased and judgemental. If not, you end up with a waste of tax dollars, resources, and potential. It would be rather expensive to implement a more humanistic behavioral health system where those with difficulties aren't scalded to death by hot bathwater. Most employees are just working for the paycheck and can't differentiate between patient and coworker.

To this end, I'm reminded of the mass killing of girls overseas because they go to school. The female politician who was shot for her voice in allowing girls to have an education. I think we can learn a lot from other cultures.

I recommend the aforementioned book to anyone in need of information on becoming a person. For those who can afford to stand out from the crowd. For those who say yes to life, despite, these maddening and uncertain times. For those who have the courage to stand upon the precipice and assert their right to life, liberty, and free speech.

coping
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.