Psyche logo

The Unlucky One

I survived, and now I thrive

By hunter ruchellePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

It was April 2021, I went to Disney World. I met this guy there, I shall keep his name anonymous. We had a few talks and hung out a bit. He was very sweet yet charming. We definitely hit it off. We went on a few rides together. After the trip, we kept on talking. Then we hung out at his house a bit.

It was May 2021, he called us "besties". We were stuck together like glue. He would buy me anything I wanted. Take me wherever I wanted to go. It just seemed unreal. I was so lost in this fantasy that I thought was real. He was very open and willing to listen to my problems. He wanted to know everything about me. So I shared my deepest secrets. Which I regret later. It seemed to be so true. But something felt off.

Couple months gone by, lets say July. He started to show some red flags. He started to be controlling and possessive. He always wanted to hang out. He hated that I had other people in my life. It came to a point where he became borderline abusive.

He would gaslight me, guilt trip me on a daily basis. He isolated me from my friends. He hated my family, I didn't get the reason for this. Arguments to arguments it got progressively worse. They would never stop. I needed a break.

In August, the emotional abuse got worse. It got to a point to which I was suicidal. I was admitted to a psych ward for six days. I had the worst time of my life. Six days gone by, I went home and went right back to him. My Mom realized I needed more help. I was sent to a mental health treatment center. I was there for thirty six days. It was a very intense treatment program.

While at my stay in the treatment center; my now ex-boyfriend stalked me. Which did increase to the extreme level. It got so bad that I called the police to report it. The treatment center recommended getting a restraining order. I wasn't granted it later on.

In September, was the final break up. I finally said enough is enough. I was broken and lost. i couldn't deal with him anymore. I started working on myself. I did land myself into a four month depression. It took awhile to get out of. Break ups are never fun.

In mid February, I met an amazing guy. Who I'm still currently with now. He treats me amazing. We are very supportive of each other. We have so much fun together. I love him more than anything. He treats me with respect and I do the same.

About mid March, the final blow up happened. My ex-boyfriend got extremely jealous. He couldn't take the pain of me being with someone else. He did an act of physical violence. I was very scared. But, I had my boyfriend now to help us. We went through this together. My boyfriend didn't know much about him. All he knew was he was weird and abusive.

Now, that he is gone. He left the state. I am now free from his misery. I feel so much better and more happier. I love myself more. I am learning to coped with the trauma he put me through. He taught me what love is not. This was not love, this was abuse.

Love shouldn't hurt. Love should heal. Before I met him, I was strong but after I left him I am stronger. I am a thriving and I am a survivor.

recovery
2

About the Creator

hunter ruchelle

been journaling since I was a kid. enjoy my public journal :) . subscribe for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.