Psyche logo

The Power Of Positive Thinking

Negative thoughts bring out the worst in us. Is the solution to this problem as simple as just changing the way we think?

By Timi RobinsonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Viktor Forgacs from Unsplash

I have a terrible but reasonably common habit. Whenever I’m faced with something that makes me relatively anxious, I tend to envision the worst possible outcome of that scenario.

If I had a presentation to deliver or if I was meeting with a girl, I couldn’t help but imagine all the ways it could all go wrong.

I would picture myself stumbling over my words, saying something stupid or looking like an idiot in general. Of course, I never intended to make a fool of myself.

For some reason, I had convinced myself that if I set my expectations extremely low then I would be spared the pain of being disappointed.

I’m sure I’m not alone in this. Many of us recognize a potential risk in a scenario and, perhaps due to past experiences, amplify it so much that we persuade ourselves it can only end in disaster.

Image by Uday Mittal from Unsplash

Our minds are incredibly powerful. Our thoughts and emotions govern the majority of what we do. I’m sure you’ve heard of the term “manifestation”. The idea that focusing on something hard enough can make it come to fruition.

Now, I’ve never really believed in manifestation or affirmation. It’s never been something that has piqued my interest. Strangely enough, however, I had an experience that made me question the validity of this practice.

Allow me to explain.

When I was around 16, there was a day I didn’t feel like going to school. I knew there was no way I could miss school unless I were sick. So, I decided to lay out a plan that would get me the day off.

We had a summer house in our garden and every day, at around 6 am, my mum would go in there to pray. So, shortly after 6 am, I snuck downstairs and created a concoction of milk, cooked chicken pieces and cucumber. I made sure to check the milk and food were fresh before mixing it all in a plastic bag and drinking the mixture.

I held the “fake vomit” in my mouth and stumbled outside into the garden, directly in the line of sight of my mother. I then spat out the mixture to make it look like I had thrown up.

A little extreme, I know, but she bought it. All I had to do was clutch my stomach and let out a few groans throughout the day to seal the deal. And just like that, I enjoyed a day off from school.

A few days went by and I actually came down with an illness. There was no need for any fake vomit. This time it was all real.

Image by Rex Pickar from Unsplash

Was this simply a phenomenon? A sheer coincidence brought about by misfortune?

Or was it a reality I had conjured purely due to my thoughts? If I had not convinced my mum and myself that I was sick, would I have been sick at all?

To be honest, I don’t know. Regardless, that experience made me think about the effect our thoughts have on our reality. Is there a possibility that changing the way we think could change the circumstances around us?

Constantly perceiving our reality through a negative lens is bound to have an impact on the quality of our being. We become devoid of any hope or ambition. In this case, the solution should be quite simple. Just ignore your pessimistic thoughts and focus on the positive.

Image by Antonino Visalli from Unsplash

Well, I don’t think it’s that straightforward. All our emotions, whether they are negative or positive, are important. They form the foundation of who we are as individuals and deserve to be acknowledged.

My definition of positive thinking isn’t the act of suppressing any negative thought that pops into your mind.

It’s being able to embrace your emotions, good or bad, and forming a better understanding of them. Filtering out baseless and harmful thoughts and diverting your attention to the things that bring you joy.

It’s not about completely changing the way you think. It’s about changing the relationship you have with your thoughts.

With practice and time, being emotionally aware like this can influence our attitude and the way we choose to act. Leading to a more positive outlook on life and an increase in confidence.

“Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself in your way of thinking.”

-Marcus Aurelius

advicehumanityselfcaresupport
Like

About the Creator

Timi Robinson

Just a university student going through the motions and trying to help others going through it as well.

Check out more of my work on Medium! https://medium.com/@timirobinson34

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.