Psyche logo

The Power of Doing Nothing

Why is this now so much important than ever?

By Carlos VelascoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Paula Schmidt from Pexels

Doing nothing.

Nowadays seems pretty impossible, don’t you think? Because in every moment in our lives we are doing something. Whether that’s scrolling through or phone or doing some task, we are always looking for ways to feel like we are busy.

If we don’t find something to do then boredom arrives. And boredom is very dangerous.

Or that is what we are left to think?

I don’t believe this is the case, at least for the very short term. Because living a life full of boredom doesn’t sound like a great life for me.

The point I’m trying to make here is that for once in a while is healthy to do nothing and be bored, especially during these times. Those quiet and lonely moments my parents and grandparents had are full of technological distractions nowadays.

And our brain has adopted the lifestyle of always being working.

That is one of the reasons why people are not able to sleep well at night. Because the brain is still active processing stuff.

Resting is a very important part of the process of having a healthy life, and a lot of us, I included, don’t understand this. We still want to be always busy working to improve ourselves every day, but it leads to a path where you eventually will smash your face against the wall.

And that day has arrived at me today.

I didn’t understand what it was until I saw this YouTube video made by Cole Hastings. It’s a pretty good video and personally, I love his channel, you should check it out (he is not paying me for this tho :)).

And Cole said something that totally hit me:

“It is in the nothing that everything comes into being. And it is in those times when you are doing absolutely nothing other than just being that you truly get to know yourself. And you truly get to love yourself and be okay with being with yourself. Every great idea, invention, started from nothing”.

And that’s when I understood.

I understood that I wasn’t giving time to myself to enjoy the process of the things that supposedly I told myself I love. I was just doing them because of the heavy daily routine and just to tell myself that I was doing something with my life.

To clear my mind on this, I decided to just go to my house’s roof and stare at the sky and the sun that was setting.

It was a beautiful moment, and I can say that it helped me to realize how everything I was doing was because I love myself and I want to see myself better, but I wasn’t projecting that self-love with the actions I was taking.

It was in the action of doing nothing that everything shaped together. Just like Cole said in his video.

And that helped me understand that sometimes is healthy and totally human to just lay or sit down and just E X I S T.

It also cleared my mind and gave me a different approach towards the situations I was facing in my life at the moment.

And it feels good, it feels so good to be free of that useless pain that we give to ourselves purely to feel like we are going through stuff.

Doing nothing is going to do something that I will do from time to time. Of course, I don’t want to do it often because, hell, I want to do interesting stuff in my life as well. But doing nothing, sometimes, is the path we need to take to understand everything.

I hope you learned something new today or just helped you to see a different perspective on life.

Thank you for reading this, I appreciate you a lot and I would love to read your thoughts on this in the comments.

Make sure you read my other stories in my profile and share them with others, it might help them too:)

We’ll see each other in the next post! Until then, thanks for reading.

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.