Psyche logo

The Devil's Chains

Chapter 1

By Kate RPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Devil's Chains
Photo by Mathilda Khoo on Unsplash

Hello, my name is Kate and if you have read my bio you will see that I have struggled with addiction. This first part of my story is about how it all began. I hope you enjoy.

It was a brisk winter morning when I was born to a woman who didn't want me. She left me at the hospital and ran. I was shortly given to a family who adopted and loved me. Although I was given to an amazing family I was born dependent on narcotics and was a very grumpy baby. I guess you may think that is where it began but you would be wrong.

Skip forward five years. I am a happy little girl and I had a lot of friends and was really enjoying Kindergarten. One day I started complaining of leg pain so my parents took me to the doctor and after a long time searching they found out that I had a rare bone disease and needed to have hip surgery or I would be crippled the rest of my life. At the age of five I had my first hip surgery and was put on a morphine pump while in the hospital and out. I was stuck in a wheelchair and at that moment in my life I realized I was different, I wasn't like the other kids and no one knew how or wanted to play with me anymore. I was fed a lot of pain medications through the process of re learning how to walk and physical therapy. I guess you could say, hey! maybe her addiction started then! But yet again, you would guess wrong.

Skip forward to middle school. I was an awkward pre-teen who hardly had friends and crippling back pain. The doctor decided that due to my hip surgery it stopped my left leg from growing and that he needed to go do right knee surgery to cap my growth plate, yes indeed I am stuck the same height I was at the age of 11. With that surgery came more pain meds and then the bullying started in school. I was the weird kid in crutches. One day while I was crutching down the hallway some kid came up to me called me a freak and kicked my crutch from out from under me. The fall really hurt but the emotional pain that caused was even worse. I got myself up off the ground and got myself to the bathroom it was there at the age of eleven that I had the thought: "What if these pills will help with emotional pain?" and I took two...and let me tell you something, it helped with my physical and emotional pain and that ladies and gentleman is where the addiction was born.

Wow! You made it that far through all the boring introduction. If I get enough reads I will continue on with the second part of my story. The part where you all will see the true evils that addiction can bring.

addiction
Like

About the Creator

Kate R

I am in recovery for addiction, mental health and trauma and am here to share my stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.