Psyche logo

Symptoms of Dyspraxia in Adults

Date modified: 09/09/2017 (c)

By Chloe UrquhartPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Image by TeroVesalainen on Pixabay

There are different types of dyspraxia such as oral, global and physical. Someone with dyspraxia can have one or more of these. I have oral, global and physical dyspraxia. I wanted to write a post that could help other people with dyspraxia and that could help people understand dyspraxia. Dyspraxia affects people in different ways and symptoms can vary. I have listed symptoms which I have researched.

Please note that a person with dyspraxia will not necessarily have all these symptoms. I do not have them all. I might have had more of the symptoms when I was younger, but with the right support and treatment, these symptoms have been reduced. I hope you find this article useful.

What Is Dyspraxia?

Dyspraxia is a developmental disorder of the brain in childhood causing difficulties in activities requiring coordination and movement.

Co-Ordination (Large Movements)

People with dyspraxia have difficulty with co-ordination and can perform poorly in these areas:

  • Balance
  • Posture
  • Integration of both sides of the body
  • Hand-eye co-ordination
  • Rhythm when dancing or doing aerobics
  • Gait
  • Movement
  • Accessory movements – can be exaggerated. Flapping arms when running, for example.

Co-Ordination (Small Movements)

People with dyspraxia may experience difficulties in these areas:

  • Two-handed tasks
  • Manipulative skills – such as drawing or steering.
  • Adequate grasp – poor grip on pens or pencils.
  • Dressing or grooming activities
  • Established hand dominance

Speech and Language

People with dyspraxia can also have difficulties with speech and language. Here are some signs of these difficulties:

  • Talking continuously
  • Repeating things
  • Trouble organising content or sequence of language
  • Unclear speech
  • Cannot pronounce certain words
  • Uncontrolled pitch, volume or rate in speech

Eye movement

  • Difficulty in tracking or relocating things.

Perception

People who suffer from dyspraxia may have difficulties in the following areas:

  • Visual perception
  • Over sensitivity to light or noise
  • Distinguishing sounds from background noise
  • Over-sensitive or under-sensitive to touch, smell, taste, temperature or pain.
  • Spatial awareness. Can lead to bumping or tripping into/over things and people. Could also lead to dropping things.
  • Sense of time, speed, distance or weight
  • Direction
  • Distinguishing left from right

Learning and Thought Process

Dyspraxia can affect someone’s learning. These are the difficulties someone with dyspraxia may experience:

  • Planning or organising thought
  • Memory, particularly short term
  • Focusing
  • Sequencing – could affect maths, reading, spelling or writing.
  • Accuracy – can lead to difficulties copying writing or movements
  • Following instructions, especially more than one instruction at a time.
  • Concentration
  • Slow in finishing tasks

Emotion and Behaviour

Dyspraxia can have an impact on emotion and behaviour. Someone with dyspraxia may have difficulty with the following things:

  • Listening to people, particularly in large groups.
  • Picking up non-verbal signs
  • Judging tone or pitch of voices (possibly including theirs)
  • Adapting to new or unpredictable situations. Can be slow to adapt.

My Experience of Having Dyspraxia

I have had a few challenges with having dyspraxia. Notably, the hardest challenges were when I was little and in my teens. Teens were the toughest. Some people thought I was thick because I was slower to understand things. In the first two years of high school, I was always last to be picked for P.E or second last. I started to fit in in year nine, I met two great friends who are still my best friends now. I had to work on my social skills a lot. But for all these challenges I would say that I am proud of what I have achieved. I think I am a stronger and more understanding person because of it.

When I was little not many people could understand my speech but now most people understand me. I can pronounce a lot more words, the only sounds I have trouble with are ‘ch’ and ‘l’.

I never used to like exercise. Apparently, in primary school, I was always half way down the field in a race whilst everyone else had finished. But now I am a lot fitter. I run three times a week. I sometimes go to running club and always go to Parkrun. And I do a run at home on my own. It makes me happy. I don’t worry about the pace much. Whilst I am not the fastest runner in the world, I was a lot better than when I was much younger and that is the main thing.

I used to be awful at eye contact and would look in other directions when someone else was talking to me. Now I am good at eye contact and find it very helpful and beautiful to see the emotions in people’s eyes.

I have just completed a BA degree in English and am going to study an MA in Creative Writing soon. So, everyone who said I was thick, I have proved wrong.

I am learning to drive in an automatic which is giving me more confidence and my instructor teaches a lot of people with dyspraxia. I find it has been rewarding.

The advice I would give to someone with dyspraxia would be to not let any labels define you. Put it this way: Dyspraxia is part of me but I am not dyspraxia. Do not let it hold you back. You may take longer sometimes to get things but it is very rewarding in the end.

advice

About the Creator

Chloe Urquhart

I enjoy Creative Writing, reading, road running, walking, nature, listening to music, cooking, swimming, pétanque and spending time with family and friends. I also like cats. Feel free to like and share :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Chloe UrquhartWritten by Chloe Urquhart

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.