Psyche logo

Susan Meachen Controversy: Author Back from the Dead?

Did the author stage suicide and cyberbullying story to gain revenue and fund a fake funeral?

By Sai Marie JohnsonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Susan Meachen Controversy: Author Back from the Dead?
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

UPDATE: I interviewed with Ellen Barry, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist for the New York Times recently, you can read the article regarding the Susan Meachen incident here for more details:

A Fake Death in Romancelandia by Ellen Barry, Pulitzer Prize Winning Journalist with the New York Times

I did not know that my kindness could be so maliciously capitalized off of or that by wanting to support friends and peers in my industry I would be thrust into a storm such as the one that erupted upon the announcement that Susan Meachen did not commit suicide, and was returning to the industry two years after supporting her ‘daughter’ with publicity and attempts to help her gain revenue to pay for her mother’s funeral and avoid having to use her upcoming wedding and marriage finances to bury her.

Now, come to find out a little over two years later, Susan claims her family co-opted her page and made false claims about her death while capitalizing off of it and gaining income by smear campaigning other authors and making it seem like she had been bullied to death over her writing and by fellow authors in the community and the fact that this happened is heartbreaking.

All of which has now been found to be a lie.

Stunned? Astonished? In disbelief, I need to share my initial posting on FB for everyone to understand how I feel about what was done and exactly where I stand, for no confusion:

I knew years ago to separate myself from Dylan Cross and his affiliates when I noticed the treatment of my colleague, Raven Heidrich. I am not one to typically come on here and name and shame people as I prefer to keep a positive vibes hedge of protection around my business, my life, and my associates.

However, I cannot sit by while my peers and I are coming to learn that Susan Meachen not only lied about her death, but had her family pose to gain free services to pay for her funeral costs and now just over two years later, Susan is trying to return to the writing world when she was supposedly deceased. Now, knowing how Samantha A. Cole was falsely accused by Susan and Dylan has left me with no choice but to make my line in the sand firm.

I have zero tolerance for taking advantage of my peers, lying to gain readership and capitalizing off perpetuating a suicide as the cause of death for a known author.

It is appalling and disgusting what has been done here and as an advocate for mental health, a writer, and a disabled woman who has my own battles in this industry where giants make tons and I scrape by using my creativity and kindness to spread a message to a hurting world by providing entertainment and education, I am stunned.

What Susan Meachen has done and anyone who affiliates and associates with predatory and toxic bullying behavior and slanders and lies like has been showcased toward Samantha A Cole and the fact that I, personally, was taken advantage of by supplying services to help raise money for her funeral that you are a scoundrel and deserve to never work another day in this industry for the rest of your life.

Being manipulative and taking it upon yourself to construct such a vile and disgusting ‘story,’ to make money for a fake funeral is far-fetched enough to be a movie, and the fact that you did it is newsworthy.

You should be wholly ashamed of yourselves if you support or engage in such despicable and heinous misconduct and abuse and you should be sued for taking advantage of your peers, and readers alike.

While I know you may not be criminalized for this, you ought to be because this is the behavior of a conniving monster.

Sincerely,

Sai Marie

humanitydisordercelebritiesbook reviewsart
Like

About the Creator

Sai Marie Johnson

A multi-genre author, poet, creative&creator. Resident of Oregon; where the flora, fauna, action & adventure that bred the Pioneer Spirit inspire, "Tantalizing, titillating and temptingly twisted" tales.

Pronouns: she/her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.