Psyche logo

Short and Easy Spiritual Practice Everyday

Starting the day with gratitude

By AyumiPublished 2 years ago Updated 3 months ago 5 min read
Like
Short and Easy Spiritual Practice Everyday
Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

I have been on my spiritual journey consciously for the last six years, but probably a couple of decades or more unconsciously. My spiritual journey began with my desire: the pursuit of happiness. Just like everyone else, I wanted to have a happy and content life by getting a job I wanted, making enough money to do things I wanted, finding someone to love and be loved, getting married, and having my own family I wanted…the list goes on and on…

I was sure that I would be feeling complete and satisfied with my life and happy - when I achieved those goals and attained my object of desire. The thing is …I’ve done that all, yet I wasn’t feeling as blessed and at peace as I thought I would be.

Why?

Because I didn’t know who I am, I had no idea what I was dealing with as well as the potentiality of us - human beings.

Whether we realize it or not, we are seeking the ultimate state of happiness. To a certain degree, all of us are convinced that we will be happy when we get the object of desire —things, persons, or relationships whatever might be.

But the truth is that they are not what brings us what we want. Temporarily, it may give us a taste of what it is like to be happy, but it’s not going to last and provide us with what we are seeking. The thing is most of us don’t even know what we want. We are living with the idea of what makes us happy and content.

So, what can we do to experience the ultimate, forever happiness we all want?

• By start implementing daily morning spiritual practice.

• By capitalizing on our multidimensionality in accessing the Source, which most of us unknowingly, slowly but surely ignored, as we become adults.

We all are still connected to the Source that makes us possible to live our lives with full of love and light energy at ease.

It’s such a shame not being able to use a better and an easier mean, the Source when it is available. It’s like trying to make fire with woods by fractions while carrying a lighter in your pocket. You would have used the lighter if you remember that you have it, but you have forgotten about it. It is like we are experiencing transient global amnesia.

Many of us live our lives in such a state. The state of auto-piloting - we will get up and take a shower, brush our teeth while making coffee…hoping it’s Friday instead of Monday…. Sounds familiar?

As Albert Einstein said, “ insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” If we are to access the dimension that we have forgotten and haven’t been used, we must escape the insanity of autopiloting our morning routine by doing something new and different. And they don’t have to be too complicated and time-consuming stuff.

There are many different ways to reconnect and make the best use of the Source to feel like you are so blessed and the world is your oyster. Just as with anything else, there isn’t any wrong or right way to accomplish this. We are from different upbringings and environments; there is always a possibility of what worked for me may not work for you or vice versa.

Having said that there is overwhelming evidence that practicing gratitude can change your outlook on life. You will simply feel more positive emotions, feel better and sleep better. Not only that you will start noticing synchronicity and lucky events happening to you more than ever. Hence you feel happier and exuberant.

You can express your gratitude, something you are appreciative of. I do this first thing in the morning before I get up moving around. I would voice it by holding my hands together just like in prayer 🙏 and express my gratitude to my parents, grandparents, and my ancestors, who are in spirit now looking over me. I do this every morning before anything else I do. It doesn’t have to be appreciation to someone. It could be anything that you are grateful for.

I also keep a journal writing no more than 4 or 5 lines of something I feel thankful for or good things that happened to me. They don’t have to be anything big. Many times they are a little thing like a good night's sleep, or running into someone I wanted to see and ended up having a spontaneous enjoyable lunch date, etc. Writing short reflections on moments like this can greatly increase the well-being and satisfaction of your life as well as bring you more of such welcoming events and moments.

My five year old journal (2018 - 2022)

I have been keeping such a journal for almost 5 years. I am considerably happier and more content in my life even though there were major tower moments one after another during those 5 years. - transitions of my parents separately within 4 years, divorce, moving to 4,000 miles away alone leaving my son and familiar places without a job, losing a job due to Covid to list a few…

It wasn’t easy going through these unexpected events that I had very little or no control over, but there were also many blessings that I had never dreamed of. These blessings are not visible since they are changes happening and transoiring internally. Just as happiness is not always something we can smell, see and touch, the blessings we receive aren’t always tangible, either. That is indeed my case as well.

There aren't any words that I can describe the feelings of appreciation, wonderment, and connection to everyone and everything in the world now. There aren’t many things that make me angry or annoyed compared to the time before I started a gratitude practice. People around me are beautiful and kinder-hearted. The sky is bluer, the sun is brighter and warmer; so is the moon. Flowers are more vibrant and prettier and little creatures keep my heart fuzzy and soft.

I do have a moment of feeling and sensing sadness and helplessness just as everyone else, but there are far fewer and inconsequential at this point.

To me, starting a day with gratitude is one of the best and the most effective way to bridge the gap between the truth (oneness) of us, we all come from the Source and the reality of the physical world (Separateness) in which we live. Without the bridge between the two, the ultimate happiness we desire is always something we desire and wish, but can never grasp.

I sincerely hope that everyone can receive this blessing, which is abundantly ready to be given when the inner reflections of gratitude were consistently practiced. It is true that all the good things in life are, FREE for All.

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

“ When we focus on our gratitude, the tide of disappointment goes out and the of love rashes in.” - Kristin Armstrong

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Ayumi

Everything I do, I do for LOVE. Writing is a way I express my love to the world. Thank you for reading my stories.

YouTube: ayumi@3489

http://linkedin.com/in/ayumi-h

Instagram ayumi_hg

Tipping is never expected but always appreciated.

Aloha🌺

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.