Psyche logo

Seven Drug-Free Anxiety Solutions

Seven Things You Can Do Now To Help Your Anxiety..

By Michael MartinezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Seven Drug-Free Anxiety Solutions
Photo by Usman Yousaf on Unsplash

Before jumping into this information, I should give a little background on who I am and how I came to find these drug-free ways to deal with my most significant problems. I have joined the U.S military in 2004 and immediately spent 15 months in the Guantanamo detention facility. While there, I was a guard where every day for those fifteen months, I endured one or all of these treatments: spat on, screamed at, and having urine and fecal matter thrown at me every day. After that, I spent most of my life living in Afghanistan's villages, freeing them from the Taliban. We were attacked every day multiple times a day and, in many cases, were so outnumbered we were unable to fight them off. We did get to free hundreds of villagers and bring home many people to their families that were forced into slavery. But these were very bloody victories, and unfortunately, they tend to return to me often.

My anxiety had become crippling. It harmed all aspects of my life and ultimately resulted in my wife leaving me. I was too tired from the medicine I was on and often found myself having difficulty understanding things that I should fully grasp. Yes, I suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder as well, but I found that the two issues tend to magnify each other, and I have used the following to assist myself in a drug-free recovery.

It's no surprise that anxiety is on the rise in America and around the world. Year over year, the rates are increasing because of politics, health pandemics, virtual learning, loss of social connection, and every other thing out of our control. There are so many drugs readily available and often overprescribed to help deal with the stress, pressure, and panic. But, many times, the medication is just a bandaid and usually has serious side effects. You are just trading one issue for another, which begs the question... Are you really getting better? There are many natural ways to help you combat those anxious feelings so you can start to feel like yourself again. Here are my top 7!

1.One of my favorite drug-free ways to handle stress and anxiety is with essential oils. There are so many blends out there to help your increase your mood and balance your emotions. Applying a couple of drops in your hand and making a "tent" over your nose with three deep inhalations carry the oils from the olfactory center to the amygdala where your emotions are stored. With the right oil, it can almost immediately change your mood.

2.Exercise is another excellent way to keep your physical body healthy, but also your mental body. Endorphins are one of the many neurotransmitters that are released when you exercise. Physical activity also stimulates the release of dopamine, norepinephrine, and serotonin. These brain chemicals play an essential part in regulating your mood.

3.Practicing deep breathing can also help you to feel less anxious and stressed, making you feel more alert, relaxed, and happy.

4.If you regularly drink alcohol, caffeine, or smoke, you could be adding to your level of stress and anxiety. These things are not your friends. In fact, even though you may feel relief at the moment, they can worsen anxiety symptoms over time and make you dependant on them for anxiety quick fixes. Ditch the alcohol, caffeine, and nicotine.

5.Make sure you are getting enough sleep. Your body recovers with rest. This is true not just of your physical body, but the mental and emotional body. It would help if you tried to sleep at the same time each night. If counting sheep isn't working for you, try journaling any worries or things heavily weighing on your heart. Keep your room unstimulated, meaning no tv, phones, or anything else that would keep your mind racing.

6.Meditation has been proven to relax and increase your body's frequency. It removes racing thoughts and replaces them with peaceful feelings. A quick session of intentional, thoughtful meditation can transform your mind from crazy to calm, alleviating feelings of anxiousness.

7Supplements can also be very beneficial to your emotional health. Vitamin B is known as a happy hormone and must be replenished daily because your body does not hold onto it from day to day. I also increse my zinc and magnezium.

How do you do deal with your anxiety?

anxiety
3

About the Creator

Michael Martinez

I am a retired Navy vet with multiple combat deployments. I have come to learn that I in fact do not know it all and know very little. My goal is to learn more, listen better, take the time to see things from multiple view points and share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.