Longevity logo

Three Ways You’re Sabotaging Your Weight-loss

Most people don’t realize this.

By Michael MartinezPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
5
Three Ways You’re Sabotaging Your Weight-loss
Photo by Bill Oxford on Unsplash

I wish losing weight was as easy as gaining it. It is not, of course, but there are three things we tend to do that make it harder to lose weight. I found that no matter how hard I worked out, and it seemed that I was not losing weight no matter what I did.

Once I stopped sabotaging my weight loss, I started seeing much better results! these three simple things are.

Who even gets enough sleep these days, right? Well, this is just as important as the workout you are doing! Your body heals when it is at rest. It flushes the body and restores its self. If you do not get enough quality sleep, your weight loss will be severely hindered. I do not mean sleep for 13 hours a day but get between 6-8 hours of quality sleep. That means you will need to make sure you cut out the tv at bedtime. I know you think you can't sleep without it, but that tv is stimulating the brain through the light and sound. It would be best if you had good sleep hygiene to get quality sleep.

Water is the drink of life! Hydrating is drinking water, not tea, coffee, soda, or mocha frappe smurf drinks. The best way to hydrate is pure water. It helps keep your energy levels up, flush toxins out of your body, and maximize your body's metabolic responses. It helps you deal with anxiety and sleep. Your calories should come from quality balanced meals, not from hydrating, so next time you reach for a drink, think about this..is this giving me empty calories? You know the saying, " A moment on the lips a lifetime on the hips" is it worth it?

Snacking (My weakness) If I am not getting enough sleep or water, I turn into a grazing piggy that roots around the farm, trying to sniff out his next snack. Saying things like I have been doing good, a treat is deserved is a big set back. The proper thing to do is grab that water and tell yourself I have been doing so good! is this cookie ore frape MoCA smurf drink worth all the work I have done? Is this worth all the work I will need to do to make up for this! It takes a 35 min walk at speeds of 3.5 miles per hour to burn a 150 calorie snack! that a lot of time for a few moments of pleasure.

weight loss
5

About the Creator

Michael Martinez

I am a retired Navy vet with multiple combat deployments. I have come to learn that I in fact do not know it all and know very little. My goal is to learn more, listen better, take the time to see things from multiple view points and share.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sage Arashiabout a year ago

    The best ways to lose weight efficiency is a combination of exercise and diet. Exercises burn calories, which helps you lose weight in a healthy manner. To increase your chances of losing 20 pounds or so, begin by making a plan that includes regular exercise and healthy meals. 1. eat healthy and stay active 2. drink more water 3. avoid junk food 4. drink less caffeine This is my recommendation as well you can use this: https://cuty.io/CzZ2XpM

  • Michael Mayer2 years ago

    Thanks for this great article it was really informative, this helped me aswell https://bit.ly/39Pbzb9

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.