Psyche logo

Seasonal Affective Disorder

Being diagnosed & living through it.

By Medina Chambers Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My diagnosed story.

It was a little over a year ago now, I started feeling stressed with work, I felt like I was getting the job done but doing it enough or to my best standard. I wasn’t sleeping much at home, I was sitting up late most sits just overthinking things, scrolling through my social media and just letting time pass by, whenever I did get time to eventually fall to sleep, I’d be woken up about an hour or two later by my alarm.... another day I would be dreading I’d think to myself. However, I’d put a smile on, get up, shower, get my work uniform on, and sort my son out for school - who at this time was going through a referral for ADHD, I did my best, got him to school and went to work, hiding how I feel. I stopped speaking to people, only if it meant I had to for my job, and decided I would keep myself to myself. No one knew anything, they just thought I was a normal happy 24 year old.

A month had gone by, now at this time everything just piled on, the meltdowns my son was having, my feelings, I started putting more and more weight on because my diet just went out the window - I’d eat late, early hours or simply skip meals. Whenever I did eat, it would be an easy fix, chocolate, sweets, bread, crisps ... anything and of course, the fizzy pop, I started drinking about 4 250ml bottles at work, and come home and have at least 5 cans of pop before bed. I’d skip showering on the night time, just so I could get into bed and watch Netflix all night, my days off work I would just sleep - my bedroom was piling up with rubbish, dirty clothes, clean clothes and just a mess. But I carried on focusing on my son, and getting him through his time of need, he was always fed properly, washed properly and in bed at a decent time. One of us needed the correct looking after!

About a week later I decided enough was enough and I went to the doctors, which of course they then diagnosed me with Seasonal Affective Disorder - which effects people in the winter months of the year, everything my doctor said made me realise how much I needed the help. I took the tablets they diagnosed me with and went on my way, and the tablets helped! I started smiling again, this time because I actually wanted to smile! My room was cleaned up, I stopped stressing about things .... of course I had my bad days, because depression doesn’t just ‘dissapear’ however I knew the help was there. I did this for me, for a better life.

If you’re suffering, please do get the help that is available, even if it’s just a phone call to someone close to you, or visiting the doctors.

The help is there for us. #mentalhealthmatters 💋

coping
1

About the Creator

Medina Chambers

Hi ✌🏼

I’m just a normal 25 year old, mother to one boy.

I was diagnosed with Seasonal Affective Disorder a year ago, & my son was diagnosed with ADHD & ASD a few weeks back.

This is what my stories will be about!

See you around x

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.