Psyche logo

PTSD/ADHD or just plain nuts!

Read entire article before getting pissed off at the title!

By Steven Crane SrPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Why is everyone always in a hurry? Why does everyone think that everything in life should be free? Why does everyone think that they don’t have to be nice to others? Why does everyone think that it has to be their way? Why do dogs turn in circles before they lie down? Why are they called hamburgers when they are made from beef? Why do you drive on parkways and park on driveways? Why are they called French fries, when they are made in America? Who was the first person to milk a cow and think let’s take a drink? How many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop? What is the connection with Popeye and chicken? Exactly what part of the chicken does the nuggets come from?

Just some of the things that pop into my head in the last 30 minutes. Here is another question, why does everyone want to claim to have PTSD, or some other disability that they read about on the internet, but when you say something about being crazy, they are so pissed they get ready to fight. I was diagnosed with ADHD at the age of about 6 years old. I was diagnosed as just plain nuts at about the age of 45 years old. The old question, “were you dropped on your head as a baby?” The answer is yes. I was told that my grandad opened the truck door when I was just a few months old, and I rolled out onto the sidewalk. He picked me up, tossed me back in the truck, and said “ awe hell, he’s a boy. He’ll make it.” My mom’s favorite thing to say when we were kids were “have you lost your mind”, in which my brother would say no, but my answer was always yes. Then, a couple of weeks ago I was discussing a situation with my aunt, and she told me that “ your crazy is showing, you might want to tuck that back in!”

On top of ADHD, I was diagnosed with C-PTSD in 2009 by a psychiatrist who was a great doctor. When we were talking the day I was diagnosed, I was telling him about all of the things in my life I had been through, and he said “ no wonder you have mental issues, I’m not surprised you are not riding up and down the street in your wheelchair, buck naked chewing on your toenails.” I responded with “I thought about it, but I can’t get my foot up that high!”

We both laughed, because he realized that I was trying to deal with my issues. He then wrote me a prescription for a psychiatric service dog, and some wonderful medication to help me keep my clothes on and not assault stupid people.

Now let’s define the difference between crazy, and stupid. Crazy in the dictionary says; mentally deranged, especially as manifested in a wild or aggressive way. Stupid in the dictionary says; having or showing a lack of intelligence or common sense.

Crazy is a disease that can be treated with medication, caring people around you and to certain types of mental disabilities, a real service dog trained by an organization. Not your pet that you bought a vest for on the internet. Stupid can only be cured by a butter sock. ( YouTube butter sock on iCarly).

If someone calls you crazy and you get mad about it, congrats, you have a case of the stupids.

If you are crazy, embrace it and enjoy it. When people say something about me being crazy, I tell them “ why yes I am, in fact I get a check from the government that says I’m crazy.”

Now don’t get me wrong, Mental disabilities are not a laughing matter. It is a serious disease. But in some cases, by accepting that you do have issues, it makes it easier to deal with at times. If you are having issues dealing with some problems, for the sake of all that is Holy, Please get some help!

On a serious note, if you feel that you have some mental issues, or if you feel depressed, suicidal, always mad or that you are not worth anything, please seek professional help. It’s ok to ask for help.

personality disorder
Like

About the Creator

Steven Crane Sr

A retired disabled Firefighter/Paramedic. I am confined to a wheelchair, and on oxygen full time. I also suffer from C-PTSD. My doctor said I should find something to do, so I decided to give this writing thing a shot. Hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.