Psyche logo

Overcoming Fear to Pursue a Dream

How I Learned to Embrace Uncertainty and Take Risks

By Abdullah Javaid KhanPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
2
Embracing Uncertainty: My Journey to Becoming a Musician.

As a child, I was always drawn to music. I loved singing along to the radio and creating my own melodies on the piano. However, as I got older, I became increasingly fearful of pursuing music as a career. I worried about what others would think of me, whether I had the talent to succeed, and whether I would be able to make a living as a musician.

Despite my fears, I continued to write songs and play music in private. It wasn't until I attended a local open mic night that I realized I needed to face my fears and pursue my dream. I had been hesitant to perform in front of others, but I decided to take a chance and sign up to perform one of my original songs.

As I stood on the small stage with my guitar, I felt a surge of nerves wash over me. What if I forgot the lyrics? What if I hit a wrong note? What if the audience didn't like my song?

Despite my fears, I began to play my song. The audience listened intently, and by the time I finished, they erupted into applause. I had never felt such a rush of excitement and satisfaction. I had faced my fears and it had paid off in a big way.

After the performance, several people approached me to tell me how much they enjoyed my song. They asked if I had any other songs and where they could find my music. I was surprised and thrilled by the positive response.

This experience was a turning point for me. It gave me the courage to continue pursuing music, despite the uncertainties and challenges. I began performing at more open mic nights and even started booking gigs at local coffee shops and bars. I also started recording my music and posting it online, which led to several opportunities to collaborate with other musicians and producers.

As I continued to pursue music, I faced many obstacles and setbacks. There were times when I doubted my abilities and wondered if I had made the right decision. But I also experienced moments of pure joy and fulfillment, such as when I performed for a packed house at a local music festival or when I received positive feedback on a new song.

Through it all, I learned the importance of taking risks and embracing uncertainty. I had to let go of my fears and trust in myself and my abilities. I also learned the value of perseverance and hard work. Being a musician is not easy - it requires long hours of practice, networking, and marketing - but the rewards are worth it.

One of the biggest challenges I faced as a musician was learning to deal with rejection. There were times when I didn't get booked for a gig or when a producer didn't like my music. At first, these rejections felt like a personal failure. But I soon realized that rejection was simply a part of the process. Every successful musician has faced rejection at some point in their career. It's how you handle it that matters.

Another challenge I faced was balancing my music career with other aspects of my life, such as school and work. There were times when I had to sacrifice sleep or social events in order to practice or perform. But I found that the more I prioritized music, the more fulfilling my life became. I was pursuing a passion that brought me immense joy and satisfaction.

Over time, my music career began to gain momentum. I started getting booked for larger gigs and collaborating with more established musicians. I also began to develop a following on social media, which helped me reach new audiences and connect with fans.

One of the most rewarding aspects of being a musician is the ability to inspire others. I have received countless messages from people who have been touched by my music, whether it's because they relate to the lyrics or simply enjoy the melodies. It's humbling and gratifying to know that my art has made a positive impact

art
2

About the Creator

Abdullah Javaid Khan

Im a Passionate Writer with a talent for crafting compelling stories and insightful commentary. With 2 Years Of experience in the writing industry,i have honed skills across a range of genres,from fiction to facts,journaslism to poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.