Psyche logo

One

Enneagram Series

By Kaitlin ChristensenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

THE REFORMER: Rational and Idealistic. Principled, purposeful - self-controlled and perfectionist.

I wanted to change the world. Change? Perhaps reform is the better word. This precious earth that we all inhabit, learn, and grow in; I wanted to somehow reform it completely into an immaculate Eden. A treasured elysian. It wouldn’t be easy. No, never easy. But still, I believed. I would bring together the greatest minds, the greatest leaders, the greatest contributors; and create a world from the purest of ideals. I wanted to breathe life into the philosophies from the great sages of old. Socrates, Confucius, Einstein, Galileo, De Vinci, all of them. Surely, at least one of them must have seen the world in the way I did. They must have seen all the things we could accomplish together. No, I am not necessarily saying that I am seeking for recognition or God’s favor. Well, perhaps I am. Perhaps I believe that you and me together could bring to pass the greatest theophany there is. Either way, I just want to prove that every imperfection could be a lie.

Wait, let me finish. I’m not saying that the world must be perfect. I am not even saying that you must be perfect. I simply believe that it must be our great crusade in life to ascend to the higher plane of the just, the revolutionary, the cogent, and the indomitable. With such a great cause resting at our fingertips, shouldn’t we at least try? Who can say what will happen until we put our fragile hearts out there on the line? Even a mirage of utopia could provide a sense of satisfaction. I’ll even bridle my foolish appetites into what I know to be best. Afterall, life isn’t meant to be controlled by the vain inclinations of the heart. No, instead I’ll write my self-mandate clearly and boldly for all who march under my banner to read. Every step will testify of its correctness.

Now please don’t misunderstand what I’m trying to say. I don’t exactly mean to imply that life is inherently corrupt. I simply believe that it is something destined to be built upon. After all, did not God give man not only the divine ability but the consecrated commission to choose, create, and reform? Trust me. I know we can, for I feel this heart beating in my chest stronger than anything else. I can’t suppress it. I don’t want to. It is the pure passions within every individual that will inspire a beautiful world. It is the most enabling power I know of. In fact, I would even consider it ennobling. Therefore, it is only logical to aspire for a change within this society that is so easily blinded by the inevitable defects of so-called casual humanity.

So take my hand. Breathe the higher air. I’ve already lost my fear of doubt. Stop holding back. There is so little time to delay. We must protect and hold together this fragile earth we all live in. Even as we speak it could be slipping through the cracks created from the lesser moments in us all. Don’t you see it? Don’t you see all the ways it could be so much better? You could be better. I could be better. The list goes on and on in my mind. I can’t forget it. Our crusade will never end. That’s why…that’s why I want you to see the world the way I do. No, no not broken. Well yes flawed but…no listen, there might be some good it in now but…I mean, of course there is good in it however…no stop saying I’m being cynical…there’s just so much to fix…wait, let me finish what I’m trying to say…no, not corrupt… no, yes it is…just…I don’t want to call it invalid…it’s just…insufficient or incomplete or dare I say defective…no, I am not unrealistic…no I am not tyrannical…just… just…. just can’t you see how we could make it so much better? It’s not about right and wrong. It’s definitely not about you and me. I just…I just want to make it better. I just want to make a difference. I just want to be useful…please.

But what about mercy you say? What about the beauty in failure you ask? What about the tears I choked back years and years ago? Well those…those were merely setbacks. Interruptions in the ridged rules between the mind and the heart. I want to let it out. Truthfully, there are times when I want to let it all out and let go of my turbulent concerns for once as a true eccedentesiast never could. But I can’t. The frailties of the human heart are simply too many for this broken world to bare. I don’t want to hurt you. Not like that. Never like that. So instead, I’ll create a better world for you. I’ll change it. I’ll protect your smile from all these worldly flaws and everything else that causes your breath to falter. One day you will see. This beautiful world; this unique, meaningful, mesmerizing world will become a perfect safe haven for us all. You will see.

coping
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.