Psyche logo

My Personal Journey With Meth Addiction

Part One: Introduction

By Jackie WillsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Me my partner Jeff and my two daughters, Cailin (18) and Lisa (15).

Hi, I’m Jackie and I'm a recovering addict. The photo is of my family at exactly the time I was introduced to Methamphetamine. I've never thought back to the beginning of it all and gone through my journey step-by-step; so I am inviting you to come on this ridiculous ride with me. The good, bad, and down right ugly of it all.

I don't know how or why, but it sort of crept into my life like It was meant to happen. To be honest, in a way it was like coming home to a place I loved and felt confident in my skin finally. It wasn't that I had a bad childhood or been abused, or had any excuse really to start using meth, except I was looking for something that was missing. I wasn't young and stupid. My God, I was around 40 years old and had two children, my darling daughters. I had a mortgage and had a degree in Social Work. I had separated from my ex-husband and the girls' father, and had been with my new partner for about six years. I thought everything was fine or no worse than any other time. I had just had a traumatic experience with my job which resulted in me being asked to resign, so I had time on my hands and I knew that I had a lot of healing to do because of what I had gone through with my agency.

Perhaps that's when I felt more vulnerable and weaker than usual. But as fate — or whatever you want to call it — intervened, the strangest thing happened. I was leaving my local bottle shop when two characters I recognised from my past were sitting on a public seat together talking. I knew they both had addictions and I pulled my car up to say hello. Although at that time I did not inquire about drugs as I would in the near future, I was definitely thinking that they were my link to the world of A-class drugs. I wasn't thinking meth, just Uppers in general. As I drove home I was thinking how funny it was to come across them, as it was so far in the past I couldn't remember their names. What I was unaware of was that fate also had me bumping into them in the very near future.

addiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.