Psyche logo

My Inner Peace

The Hobby of all Hobbies

By Rhea CampPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Inner Peace
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

In true belief, there is only one real hobby that can really bring out my inner peace: Writing. Writing for me opens up doors that were never there. It shows me how many opportunities there is for stories. To me, stories have unlimited creative outlets. It helps readers pour out their ideas differently. There are two big reasons why writing is a big deal to me, and how it changes my life. Writing helps me create my own story and with coping with loss.

Creating My Own Story

As mentioned, writing can open many outlets to different ways of thinking. Sometimes it helps me create memories that are sometimes forgettable. Peacefulness comes to me when I've finished pouring out my emotions in a story I've written. I wrote my own novel just simply writing out an idea and flowing with it.

Creating your own story also helps with social balance. It improves charisma around everyone you know. I once won two awards in high school for short story writing; and after I had described what they were, people were just simply impressed with how I could turn one object into a story. Writing for me just creates an outlet of talent. Not many people you meet can write a full-fledged novel and continue to create more afterwards.

I also feel like writing helps pull my own life together. Journaling has always helped me with everything that's been going on. Specifically the Coronavirus Outbreak. There were many people in quarantine who were afraid for their own wellbeing because of the virus. I used the time I had during quarantine to write about my thoughts and to write out my stresses, because it helped make things less extreme. Which is why I believe writing is my happy place.

Coping with Loss

In 2016, I had lost my father to Pancreatic Cancer. I was only 14 years old. While coping with his unexpected passing, I had to find a way to keep myself grounded growing up without him being there. My father had always encouraged me to do something in the arts. So, I had tried to write stories. After about a year or two, I found something I had in common with artists in general: having an interest to spark a novel.

I had written my first novel in about two years. Which was originally based off of a horror game I absolutely adored. I bounced ideas off of it, to end up creating another novel. The second novel I had created myself, after my dad had made me promise to try new things. I went all out with my second novel, making sure it had to be perfect. Writing just helped me not focus on how long it had been since my father had been alive.

Finding something like this just helped make things easier to cope. Writing helped me find my own outlet to create more. The more I create, the more I feel happy and the more energized I feel. After being diagnosed with Chronic Depression and Anxiety Disorder, I feel like writing has helped me express everything that's happened since he passed.

Conclusion

Now that I'm almost in my twenties, I can easily say that writing has changed the way I think. My ideas all bounce off of how I feel, and it helps me cope with the world we all live in. Thinking about it now just gives me the serotonin I need to keep doing what I enjoy the most. That should be the most important lesson I have ever learned, besides give what you receive. Another lesson I've learned is to never let anything stop you from creating your own paths.

I'm happy to be where I am, all because my father pushed me to write about my favorite game. And to me, that's where inner peace really starts.

By Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Rhea Camp

Just A Future Author

I love cats, sad things, spooky things, and music.

Wrote two finished, unpublished novels

I also have a loving fiancee who has supported me through everything :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.