Psyche logo

My First Day Not Being Exhausted From Thinking

My first day on my new ADHD meds

By Tae Person Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I wanna start this off with a warning that this was the very first day Ive been on Vyvanse. So this isn't to say like it's a miracle or anything. The day just felt.... Different.

To be honest I wasn't expecting to start the medication at all. There were some problems with the paperwork getting into the right hands and I was fully expecting it to take forever. But low and behold I went to see my psychiatrist and turns out he'd found the necessary files..... Hmmmkay cool. So after what was a pretty quick check up to make sure my depression/anxiety was under control, I waited for the pharmacy to fill out the prescription. Why is it that when you have to wait for them it always feels like forever... Although I guess most people don't really wait for them anymore.... But I digress.

After a bit I got called up. Paid, grabbed the bag and left. For some random reason I decided to walk home this day. Why? No idea whatsoever. Anywho! After a 20 minute walk in the not so brisk March cold I get home, read the instructions of one a day Yada Yada Yada. I never really.... LOOKED for any changes in my behavior. Due to the medical worries about right now I'm one of the peeps who is just at home all day now. Not the I'm complaining of course.

But it wasn't until around 6pm I realized a few subtle differences in my day. Mind you I'd taken the pill around 11. Anyway I'd realized like. I'd done all the laundry just in a single pathway of thought. Those who don't have ADHD won't really understand what I mean. But try to imagine thst you have maybe a list of tasks to do or chores or maybe a project that's been split into pieces right? Kay. Now imagine you get going on it at first. You're creative you're feeling good your work is moving. But at some point you take a break or worse probably sooner than later you grt distracted by something. Anything.

The noises outside, your phone, pets, bathroom break, snack break, whatever. And then you come back to continue but DAMN IT where's those thought processes go? Do I even wanna do this anymore? How long can u out it off? Who the hell is texting me? Ugh. Mark as read.....

All of a sudden it's been 5 hours and THEN you remember that, that thing exists. But you still have absolutely no... (For lack of a better word in my vocabulary I can find right NOW) WILL to do the stupid thing.

But on this particular day, my thoughts where single file. Not necessarily neat and orderly but I at least could focus on one of them for a linger period. I was moving around the house getting things done just because of a random thought. Granted it wasn't much causeee hey depression. But it was better than nothing. There's nothing like FINALLY having a somewhat quiet internal sanctum. (no seriously having a bunch of thoughts 24/7 is exhausting)

I was also able to deal with boredom a little easier. Which is a friggin miracle. I still got too fidgety and needed something to occupy me but it was MUCH easier to deal with. Granted I didn't go to sleep for at least a full 24 hours buuuutttt that might just be my insomnia, who knows?

Find out on the next episode of I kinda wanna scan my brain just so I can be told everything I need to work on at once!

medicine
1

About the Creator

Tae Person

StartHai, I'm Tae. Genderfluid, blogging, gamer, and and anime watching writer of sorts 🤷🏾‍♂️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.