Psyche logo

Musiara on missing the ball: I have to take a chance like that or set up a teammate

Musiara: I never regretted my decision to play for Germany

By Yan Guo LuanPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

About childhood experience

Musiara: "At my hometown club TSV Lehnerz, I took my first steps on the pitch. It didn't take long for me to have fun, and everything went well: at the age of six, I scored more than 100 goals in a season, which is still a record today. It was our coach Micha Hoffmann presenting me with my first Golden Boot. I still have it in my trophy cabinet and I hope to win more trophies."

Musiara: "Sport Bild showed me this picture during the World Cup and I was surprised because I didn't even know this picture existed. My mother loves to take pictures and when I was eight years old I was in Stuttgart and I saw the German team bus and, of course, I immediately wanted to take a picture with it."

"Now that I'm wearing the national shirt myself, it's an incredible feeling, even though we had bigger plans for the World Cup, things didn't go well and now I'm more motivated and I'm sure we'll be very strong in the years to come."

About playing in the final of the British Schools Championships

Musiara: "It was the final at Wembley when I was at school there. We got to the final of the British Schools Championship. We won two out of three finals when I was there and I was named player of the match in each of them - it was a great honour and a very nice feeling at Wembley."

About the photo with Bellingham

Musiara: "This is when I played with Bellingham for England Under-15s. Now we are both at the World Cup, he is playing for England and I am playing for Germany, he has gone further than me, but I never regret my decision to play for Germany. This picture was taken in 2017 when we played Holland at St George's."

"I scored a hat-trick in 25 minutes and we won 3-1. My friend Bellingham provided the assist for my first goal. It was a special game for me and I still have the match ball from when I scored my hat-trick."

About Thomas Mueller

Musciara: "At Bayern, Thomas Mueller was always someone I looked up to. He was my mentor. I got my first chance in the Bundesliga on game day 33 of the 2019-20 season when I came on as a substitute for Thomas Mueller and it was an incredible story. The fact that we are now playing together for Bayern and the national team makes me very proud."

About the World Cup against Garvey and Pedri

Musiara: "It was against Spain in the World Cup and I was up against Pederi and Garvey, the Golden boy winners of FC Barcelona, two very good players. Unfortunately, the World Cup didn't go well for either of us. We went out in the group stage and Spain went out in the round of 16."

"We tried everything in the game, I had a lot of dribbling and shooting and I still can't believe I didn't score, the scenes stuck in my mind for a long time. I am trying to clear my head during the holidays and I am already motivated for Bayern's upcoming game. One thing is clear, after the training session, I worked more with the assistant coach on my shooting!"

"I want to win games and score goals in the World Cup." It was Musiara's very simple wish. Instead, Germany crashed out and Musiara's World Cup dream came to an abrupt end when he missed twice from the post and failed to score his first World Cup goal against Costa Rica.

"I really want to win games and score goals," Musciara said in an interview in the mixed zone after playing in Spain. In fact, he had a chance to score against Spain in the 73rd minute when he was left alone by Unai Simon and had a chance to put the ball in the back of the net. After setting up Phil Kruger, he became the youngest player to score a goal in Germany's World Cup history at 19 years and 274 days.

Against Costa Rica, Musciara was without doubt Germany's most impressive player in the game - the word "untouchable" would be an understatement. Musciara scored 16 tries in the first two days, with only Canada's Alfonso Davis (18) and Buchanan (19) scoring six of those tries. Second only to Argentina's Di Maria.

"We don't have many players like Musiara who can take the ball from anywhere on the pitch and create chances," Muller told a news conference last week. The same was true of Musiara, who fired a corner from outside the box in the first two minutes and then beat five defenders in a tight space in the box in the seventh minute before failing to finish despite interference. In the 36th minute, Musiara slogged his way into the box again, and there was a clear foul on Borges, but the video referee did not intervene. The 61st and 67th minutes, Musiara's two shots and unlucky hit the woodwork pop. In fact, Musiara had a chance to score in the 97th minute, but he was denied his first goal of the World Cup when his shot was cleared by a defender

A lot of people only focus on Musiara's attacking attributes, but don't notice that he is also very active on the defensive end. He made 36 tackles in the first two matchdays, second only to Lewandowski's 41, of which he got the ball 12 times. It should be said that Musiara has a very positive attitude both offensively and defensively, which is why every coach likes him.

Olmo, who plays for RB Leipzig in the Bundesliga, revealed that Musiara was seen as the "biggest threat" by Spain coach Luis Enrique against Desi, and Enrique did not deny it: "Although I was prepared mentally, I must say he surprised and impressed me. I really like him and his style is similar to our younger players."

It has been a disappointing World Cup for Germany, but Musiara has undoubtedly been the star of this disappointing team. The German media likened him to Schweinsteiger and Podolski at Euro 2004, where Germany also suffered an early exit and humiliation, but the two debutants went on to become key players in Germany's World Cup triumph in 2014. Perhaps after this World Cup failure, Musiara can grow up faster.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Yan Guo Luan

I like movies, music, science fiction and art. I am a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that inspire me include equality, respect and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.