Psyche logo

Mental health starts early

Part one

By Yahniya Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Mental health starts early
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

How far back are you able to remember? I can remember as far back as maybe 4 years old. At 4 you could be expected to be in Pre-K learning, playing and having fun. Well my 4 was a lot like what is expected but with a bit of a twist.

From what I remember and also have been told is that my parents raised me in the same household for 4 of my first years. With that being said I've never knew another man to date my mother besides my father. As I look back I could not tell you when they separated but I can tell you that they both moved on to see other people. I couldn't tell you how I felt about it as I really don't know what my exact thoughts and feelings were at the time. But, I do know that it was all very knew to me.

My mother has Three sons and one daughter (me). My dad has me as an only child and daughter. When my mom met her new partner she married him shortly after and he had Two sons himself. Before their marriage my Innocence was completely taken away from me by my stepbrother at the time.

I never understood what was happening to me or why it was happening. All I know is as I got older I learned that it was not right and it was never okay. I never knew how to tell anyone because honestly I felt too much time had passed.

School became my best friend minus all of the bullies. I loved school it was a huge escape for me. Home was so traumatic that school honestly couldn't compare. Bullies were least of my worry's in elementary but when I started highschool everything kind of shifted.

I started to gain more knowledge, majority of things that didn't bother me at six and seven really bothered me a lot at age twelve and thirteen. I was maturing and also going through puberty was very confusing to me. Although my mother taught me about what to expect I still never grasped all the information.

Speaking of my pre-teens I experienced my first ever anxiety attack. For almost 4 days straight I could not walk right. Imagine going down the stairs on your bottom and needing assistance walking to the bathroom when you were perfectly fine days before.

My father took me to the hospital because honestly I felt it was just too weird. They ran major test on me and everything came back normal. The most interesting test they did was to have me walk in a straight line which I mastered in struggle. I struggled so bad to walk in a straight line but they considered it a pass. I still told them there's no way I'm fine. So the doctor sent me to the psych floor for further evaluation.

Shortly after meeting with a therapist my pain began to go away and the next day it was pretty much gone. I don'ft know if it was .already going to go away on its own or maybe the therapy did help MY father and I thought it would be good for me to get in to therapy twice a month right to help me cope with anxiety. My father and I thought it would be good for me to get in to therapy twice a month to help me cope with anxiety. Before I started the therapy i began to have very bad anxiety that came with hyperventilation and panic attacks. My anxiety made it hard for me to be in any vehicle, crowds, or at family functions. After receiving consistent therapy I developed many coping methods. My anxiety is way better managed now than when I first began therapy.

anxiety

About the Creator

Yahniya

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sid Aaron Hirji2 years ago

    Great story-I was put on meds at age 10 because of anxiety

Yahniya Written by Yahniya

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.