Psyche logo

Living With ADHD

ADHD

By Kasey SlaglePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

For the past 26 years I have lived undiagnosed with ADHD. The fact that I have came up with my own coping skills amazed my therapist. Finally getting the diagnosis explains so much of my childhood, my college education, my marriage, and my children.

I was just recently diagnosed ADHD by my therapist last month. She told me that it was a diagnosis that we knew I had but was not official. Now that it is official we can look at my coping skills and my learned skills to provide clarity to my life

Here is some background.

In grade school I was the talkative kid. I had average grades and hated every class I was forced to take. I did not like reading but enjoyed writing. Done horrible in math and spelling. If it is a class that I had to take I done horrible.

In highschool there were some classes I was able to pick. I remember my senior year being able to go on work study and i opted for that. I was able to leave school and go to work. Had I been 18 I know that I would have dropped out. High school was only the beginning of the hard school life.

As for college I have one class to finish my basic classes in 3 different majors. I can not stay focused on any one major because I get so passionate about one thing get halfway through it and something else catches my eye.

In my work career I have had many different jobs and done many multilevel marketing jobs. I have found that in myself I see one thing that helps others and I get passionate, but then I see another thing that helps more people and go to it.

There is so much research out there about ADHD and coping skills, but I just wanted to share a few of mine that I can up with on my own. My survival skills that I have used to get me this far.

Here is a list of some of the skills I have gained:

o A planner is my best friend. I have 2 paper planners and multiple digital ones. This is my way of keeping up with everything and being able to switch to a different planner makes me feel at ease.

o Organization: ADHD people are not typically organized but in my life with my children if I am not at least some what organized I cannot function.

o Having an E-reader: I can not read a regular book. If I look back the only books that I have finished are ones on my e-reader.

o Having a distraction free area: I have a storage area in my house that has been transformed into a quiet, distraction free area. I am able to go into this room and work on crafts, school, or work. This is my area that when the door is closed no one will enter. If the door is open my family knows that I am not busy.

o Going outdoors: If I am outdoors it is like all my distractions are gone. The thoughts in my mind are gone. I can go on a hike and be the calmest most focus I have been in weeks.

o Writing in a journal: If I get super overwhelmed or just need some time I will find a journal prompt pull out my journal and write. Sometimes it may be 2-3 sentences, other times it is 2-3 pages. The topics that I have a passion for are the ones that get the most thought.

I hope that my skills that I have used will be able to help someone else.

coping
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.