Psyche logo

Life with Co-Occurring Disorders

Psychology Today estimates that over 7.9 million adults in the United States alone live with more than one mental disorder. Living with one or more disorder is called co-occurring disorders or comorbidity. I am a person who lives each day with manic depression (bipolar 2), an anxiety disorder, bulimia that is in remission, drug abuse disorder (also in remission), and misophonia.

By rachel westPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

As a child, I never seemed to feel as if I fit in. I always seemed to be the odd man out. I remembered being incredibly sad and depressed even as a pre-teen. When a “friend” (let’s use that term loosely) decided she hated me and that everyone should too, I started planning my suicide. I was only 11. My mother knew I was always lashing out, always crying, or always anxious, but we all thought it was a phase. Looking back, I could see why. I don’t hate my parents for thinking that.

In high school, I was bullied for being on the plus size. I started losing weight but dieting and exercising the correct way at first. Eventually, I found an “easier” way. A more sustainable way. One were I could eat whatever I wanted, but not gain a single ounce. Bulimia. I would eat laxative like candy from the time I was 17 til the age of 22. I still have colon issues. It started with only taking two laxatives a day, and ended at over 30 laxatives a night. I will literally gag still at the thought of how I would pop them like pez candy.

At age 21, I was admitted to a mental hospital for a suicide attempt. While I was in the mental hospital, I was diagnosed with Bipolar type 2. That made total sense to me. I would go through major manic phases where I would do totally insane things, such as steal thousands of dollars from people. Yes, I have been arrested multiple times, and no I am not a felon (I deserve to be, but I serve a gracious God who has helped me fight my charges and I have paid restitution for my manic phases). Yes, I was a total scum bag. I promise on medication, I am a totally different person. It's quite sad actually. That is a story for another time. I also have multiple sex partners when I am in a manic phase, along with other things that are completely irritational.

My anxiety is only bad if I do not take my medicine, and then I have severe panic attacks, where I will hyperventilate. I stress out easily, and the fear of being left out of not knowing something freaks me out.

My misophonia is probably the worse. Any little noise will send me in a panic still to this day. I can not stand the sound of chewing, crunching, typing, anything repetitive. It will send me into a complete angry fit, and I dwell on the noise I heard for a good few minutes. No one understands how bad I wish I could just get over it.

My drug addiction at one time completely ruled my life. I would wake up in the morning and snort a line of coke. Then I would put a fentanyl patch on, go to work, snort another line at lunch, and drink a fifth of rum after work. I did this same routine for several years until I overdosed on my little brother’s birthday, and my older brother found me. The very next week, after withdrawal/detoxing for a week, I found out I was pregnant with my child. When I say my child saved my life, I mean every single word.

I have been clean and sober for over three year, and I take 4 pills everyday to live as much of a normal life as possible. I go to work everyday, after dropping my child off with a babysitter. After picking my child up after work, we go home and he “helps” me with my school work. We then cook supper for my husband. It is possible to live a normal life with mental illnesses, you just have to work at and take your medicine. I do understand mine are not as bad as others.

disorder
1

About the Creator

rachel west

25 years old. Full-time wife/mom. Full-time employee. Full-time student. Yes, I consider that working 3 jobs. Yes, I stay busy. over 3 years clean and sober. Mental health advocate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.