Psyche logo

I will be hiding behind the Fire Station

A true life horror story

By Denise HarrisPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
4

I will be hiding behind the Fire Station. These are the last words I spoke that I can clearly remember before I actually hid. I hate even thinking about saying those words. I hate thinking about the moments that led up to and followed those words. So, let me rewind to get you to this point so you can clearly understand this situation.

I was married to a drug addict and we had a son together. I had 2 daughters previously. One lived with us and one did not. We lived in an Italian Tuscany style home at the time of this incident. The home was located on the 17th hole of a golf coarse. On this particular night my daughter was not home. The drug addict was in rare form. Earlier that day I had found crack pipes hidden in a potted plant. Sick of his addiction and lies, I was going to show them to his mom. So, I stuck them in my purse. (yes I know.....) Anyway, that night he was as high as a giraffes ass and so paranoid he made me believe I was seeing things myself. Being so over his drug induced raging fit, I took my then 3 year old son and locked both of us in my daughters bedroom. I laid my phone on the side table and we went to sleep. I woke up in the middle of the night to sounds of something digging in the lock on the door. I laid in the darkness listening. He came into the room and took my phone. I silently got up and found him in the kitchen going through my phone. He had ransacked the house. He had pulled every drawer out and dumped them in the floors. All the cabinets were open and everything had been pulled out of them. My computer and ipad were on the table where he was sitting.

I asked him what was he doing and why the house was trashed. He began to scream accusing me of sleeping with people. There was nothing in my phone and that seemed to make him even more upset. He was screaming saying I had erased everything from my phone and now he was going to kill me. He lunged at me and I ran back to the room. I shut and locked the door and sat in front of it praying my body would be enough weight to keep him out. He kicked the top of the door and it caved in on top of my head. He jumped over me and grabbed the baby. I begged and pleaded for him to hand me the baby. At this point everything was spiraling out of control and I knew I had to remain calm. He had my phone, ipad and computer. I had no forms of communication to get help. The only thing I knew to do at this point was to leave and go get help.

The drug addict (I will continue to call him this because he doesn't deserve to be called anything different) came from a well to do, fake ass family. I say this because his mother (my ex mother in law) came from a very small hick town in Mississippi. Her dad was sheriff there for 25 years and she was the little debutant of the town. She married the drug addicts father whom at the time was a highway patrolman and an alcoholic. They had three kids and she got the shit beat out of her for the next 25 years. During the marriage she was a dance teacher and was heavily involved in the pageant circuit. When they got divorced she then married a pedophile who went to prison for molesting kids. She even caught him with one of her students in a hotel room for one of her events. (yep...... good lord). She divorced him then married her divorce attorney. See where I'm going with this....

On with my horror story... I decided I was just going to leave in my car and go get help. I start putting on my shoes and grab my purse. The baby is screaming and the drug addict is towering over me taunting me while holding my poor screaming baby ever so tightly. He was saying things like: "Oh so you're just gonna leave now? Yea that would be so super easy, huh?" "That's what I would do too. I would just leave." He was saying these things in a low monotone voice. I can't even describe to you the way he sounded. He even handed me my keys which I thought was very strange. I put my purse on my shoulder and told my baby I would be back for him since I couldn't rip him from the drug addicts grip.

I put my purse on my shoulder, went to the garage and got into my car. I put the keys in the ignition, turned it.... and NOTHING. Then I noticed that the door, to the little side cubby hole where the fuses go, was missing. Of coarse it was. I had my emergency money hidden in there and he had ransacked my car. I get out and popped the hood while he stood there still taunting me. He is now laughing in this spooky "I got you now" laugh. Upon looking under the hood I noticed he had not only unhooked the battery cables, he had taken the entire battery out of my car so I couldn't leave.

By this time I knew this was way more serious than all the other times. I took out running. He didn't expect that. I ran into the darkness and I heard him yell out to me (while laughing) "That's ok, I'm gonna get ya!". I heard his truck crank up and he was revving the motor. I could also still hear my baby boy screaming. My baby was so confused and all I wanted was to find help. I figured if I got to the road I could flag someone down and they would let me use their phone or something. I got to the road and being that it was 3 in the morning, there was no traffic. One lonely vehicle passed and as I stood in the middle of the road with my praying hands in front of my face begging for them to stop, they drove around me while honking the horn aggressively.

Then I see his headlights plowing toward me at full speed. I jumped into the ditch and ran onto the golf coarse back towards the house. The ditch didn't stop him and his Z71 4-wheel drive. He also jumped the ditch and came after me. I dove into the little ponds and hid in pampas grass that cut me up like I had jumped into a bed of razor blades. Muddy and bleeding I continue to run. I laid face down in grass and mud trying to be even with the ground so he couldn't see me in the dark. He chased me for what seemed like hours. I was hiding in peoples bushes and behind trees. (Just a quick FYI, yall's security systems suck) I ran until I couldn't run anymore.

Finally, I gave up and knocked on a strangers door. I heard dogs barking and a man cursing the dogs. He was pissed that someone had woke him up. He opened the door and by the shocked look on his face I could tell I looked like a hot scary ass mess. Through heavy tears I said, "Sir I'm so sorry I woke you but my husband is trying to kill me. I will be ok and I just need to use your phone to call for help." Without a word, he handed me his phone. I called the drug addicts mother (she doesn't deserve to be called anything different either) and these were my words to her: "Your son is high again and he has Braydon (my son) in the truck with him and he is trying to kill me. He has my phone and every form of communication I had. I am walking 2 miles back up this road and I will be hiding behind the fire station. Blow the horn when you pull up and I will come out."

I handed the man his phone back and he offered to take me up the road and I thanked him but declined the offer. I ran the 2 miles up to the fire station. There were cars there and I suppose they were asleep inside. I almost woke them up to get help but decided to hide and stick with my plan instead. When the drug addicts mom got there she blew the horn and I came out. Her attorney husband was also with her. They both were horrified at the sight of me. We get in the car headed back to my house and they are both done with the drug addicts behavior and blah blah blah. When we pull up at my house to get my son, the cops are already there and the drug addict had my son sitting on the hood of his truck. They were all laughing and shooting the breeze. I get out of the car and they come around the car to arrest me. He told them I had lost my mind and left the house walking and he couldn't find me. He made them believe I was crazy and I was the addict. Then guess what? Yep, his pipes were in my purse. I don't even honestly remember what happened after that. It's like everything that was happening was so unbelievable to me that I just blacked out. I literally woke up at the drug addict's mother's house. I was woken up by her telling me we had to go because the drug addict was locked in the house about to commit suicide. She said the only person that could save him was me. So we left.... so I could save his life.

Follow me for the next short story of my life! If you like this read leave me a small little happy tip! I want to finish my book and tell my story in hopes that it will inspire someone to have the strength to get out of abusive relationships. XOXOXOX- Denise (aka) Girl, please!

addiction
4

About the Creator

Denise Harris

I have always wanted to be able to tell my life story. I have survived abuse from a drug addict and the trauma of having a child taken by people with political power and money. Thanks for taking time to read my story. - Denise Harris

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.