Psyche logo

How Is Agoraphobia Tied to Schizoaffective?

How Have I Treated My Agoraphobia Myself?

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I had to go to school with obvious agoraphobia related anxiety. Not being treated for schizoaffective comes form the depths of hell, and is very stressful. Medication is great because it helps you with stress management. Well, mental focus on breathing can also help with stress management. I have schizoaffective, which means I am schizophrenic and bipolar at the same time. I also have OCD. OCD will be something I will cover in other articles this month. I have many anxiety related disorders I'm trying to control, live with better, and contain but I have seen that I need to put myself in the hands of mental health rehabilitation centers in Los Angeles, which there are plenty of.

High school made me feel very uncomfortable, but it wasn't up to me where I went to school, much less that I had to leave the house to go to school. I really would have benefitted from medication in high school, but I had myself really trapped living at home, without an ability to seek treatment until I was 28. That's when I found SSI, and I spent years working to pay into it but I also had many an internship/unpaid positions after college.

Unlike many with agoraphobia, I do not fear being alone. I manage to get out of the house to seek medical care, as I'm getting a flu shot this week because I feel I need one. I was once afraid to leave home alone, afraid of enclosed spaces, although I'd hide in my closet or under my desk, I was terrified of crowds and still am however. I don't like going to shows, much except when I can stand it. I'm not afraid of open spaces as much because I like going for walks and hikes.

So yes, I'm a psychic with agoraphobia, or fear of crowds. I have panic disorder or had panic disorder or got it under control with medication. Panic disorder can be treated with medication very well, but not only medication, with exposure therapy that you do on yourself, by making yourself leave the house. I get paranoid about what other people think of me when I leave the house sometimes, and since I know what they are thinking, I remind myself that I do not have to care. I'm not as claustrophobic as I used to be.

I had no idea what disorganized agoraphobia was until I read this section of the article I'm citing. I have been taking 50 mg of spironolactone, which could stand to be lowered by now. The spironolactone is good to keep my testosterone, and blood pressure down. I have had plenty of opportunities with my ex to treat my fear of crowds by using exposure therapy, as I've gone to shows while learning how to conquer this fear of crowds. Enochlophobia is what this irrational fear is called by now, because concerts and sporting events fill me with fear. I've had this fear since I was a young child on occasion in my adult life. We agoraphobes have nausea, and dizziness when subject to situations that we fear.

I was going to the grocery store on my own just fine until the pandemic hit. I have determined that staying home a lot and not hanging out with people is the best way to stay well, because the second I hang out with anybody I become ill with COVID, so I'm trying to do my best to prevent that. My OCD germ phobia is sky high right now. Sometimes I feel ridiculous to admit that I live in fear of silly things, although my fears aren't nearly as bad as they once were. I spent years driving around and going out daily, simply to avoid my parents back when I had a car to be able to do that with. And before COVID, we had many in-person religious organizations meeting on a regular basis. For now, subject to situations that we fear.

Works Cited

https://www.therecoveryvillage.com/mental-health/agoraphobia/

disorder
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.