Psyche logo

Having No Libido On Antidepressant Medication Has Its Benefits

It opens the door to your other hidden talents and skills. Go for it.

By The Soulful Scribbler Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Having No Libido On Antidepressant Medication Has Its Benefits
Photo by Anand Thakur on Unsplash

I began taking antidepressant medication for chronic anxiety-depression about two years ago. Although I escaped experiencing most side effects that were listed on the internet and told by the doctor, I did have one major issue. My libido or sex drive nose-dived gradually to the point of not existing.

As I have elaborated in my article, “My Antidepressant Became My Girlfriend and Soulmate”, I did not for once feel bad about it. In fact, I started feeling better about myself for a number of reasons.

The pill has worked wonders on my anxiety and depressive symptoms. It has removed most of my thought loops and sleep issues. I feel more confident and energetic than ever. My focus and motivation to do everyday tasks have gotten much better. But for one thing, I have less or no libido.

A blind person tends to have enhanced hearing and smelling senses. That’s the magic of being human. When something important is lost, the adaptable nature of humans compensates it with something else. It not only just compensates but also enhances a few other areas.

How does it feel to have no libido? It’s not that scary at all. I, being a man, can only tell you how I feel about women overall and in regards to romantic relationships.

First of all, all the nervous energy, hesitation, and shyness that some men may have around women go away. You are going to feel confident even when talking to a very pretty lady as you have no interest whatsoever in her.

You will not have any real motivation to start a romantic relationship with a woman because you will feel it’s just a waste of time and energy. Time and time again, you will choose to enjoy your newly found hobbies and interests rather than get into the act of pursuing a woman and go through an endless list of melodrama and stress.

Sex will start feeling like a disgusting and stinky act. You will not feel any pull towards it. Masturbation will satisfy all your needs, though your frequency tends to get lower than ever. You may not feel like it for more than a week or two, as you are fully focused on yourself and your newly found interests.

Women will not appear magical, sexually appealing, or desirable anymore. To you, they are just there, nothing more. You will start looking at them for who they really are. Many of my colleagues are women and I get along with them much better than before.

This one gives me goosebumps. Sexual hormones are such tricky bastards in my opinion. They make you numb, dumb, and keen only on procreating. They make you do all sorts of crazy things to win the heart of a woman, only to start a family in most cases.

On my antidepressant, I realized how much time I had spent on various efforts to pursue women. Generally speaking, you will feel like that was all a sheer waste of your valuable time.

Now, with razor-sharp focus and literally no libido, I feel like a superior being that no longer has to get down to the level of sexually active ones. I see loads of chaos, deception, melodrama, expectations, and disappointments, and stress in sexually active people. There’s peace and calmness in me now.

I don’t depend on someone else to make me happy for anything. I am independent, literally speaking. It’s just me, my life, and my hobbies, and my work. It’s a different kind of pleasure one has to experience.

If you are single, like me, and on antidepressants, use this time to explore your interests and hobbies. When you decide to start a family and have kids, you will not have any time to pursue anything meaningful. Trust me, people with spouses and kids struggle to find time for themselves. Even if they do, they are most likely thinking about their next set of commitments and chores for their family. So, use this wonderful time to discover all the unknown sides of you.

When there’s no libido, you are going to be motivated to channelize your free time and energy into other areas. In my case, I’ve had an extended focus, so I started reading books. I’ve also started writing. I am an introvert, so I do these. If you are an extrovert, you may find something else new about you that you’d like to pursue.

I wanted to write this piece to motivate people who are sailing the same boat as mine or are going to sail one pretty soon. When one door closes, a better one awaits. I am aware a lot of people are taking one head-med or another to cope with today’s stressful lifestyle. This goes to everyone who’s with me in this.

This piece is strictly a personal anecdote and was not written to hurt anyone’s feelings or beliefs.

Keep finding your hidden talents. Don’t lose hope. I can see the light at the end of your tunnel. Good luck.

coping
Like

About the Creator

The Soulful Scribbler

Teacher, Scientist, Writer, Reader, Poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.