Psyche logo

Drowning my sorrows in Chocolate

A not so unhealthy stress reliever

By Paul whiddon Published 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Drowning my sorrows in Chocolate
Photo by ABHISHEK HAJARE on Unsplash

No matter how happy or fulfilling your life is we all have off days. We all have times when we are down in the dumps. We feel like things fall out of place from time to time. We go through; break ups, job changes, loss of loved ones and the list of things that get us down goes on and on. When life seems to continuously through us curve balls we look for ways to deal with the stress. Things to make us feel better about ourselves and lift us up. We all have different ways of dealing with life’s problems. Some of us turn to drinking or drugs. Some turn to more physical healthier stress relievers such as; boxing, crafts, rock climbing and what ever else. Many of us turn to food. A big one in particular with the ladies (and now my self) is chocolate.

In my younger years I was one that often turned to drinking or smoking marijuana as a way to relieve my stress. As I have matured my children are getting older, more knowledgeable, and I have learned the possibilities of health risk are greater. I have started to find my self leaving the drinking and smoking in the past and turn other places for stress release. I have gotten to the point that at the end of a very stressful day when things aren’t going just right I turn to a nice relaxing bowl of chocolate moose tracks ice cream covered in chocolate syrup. While this might not be the most healthy of stress relievers either. I’m not setting as bad of an example of stress management to my boys. My judgment is not impaired and I can still finish out my day with a clear head. Not to say I never drink anymore I just do it in a more social adult like behavior.

The ironic thing is less than ten years ago I would have been one of those guys that made fun of the scene in a movie or T.V. show where there is a group of women crying over a gallon of ice cream over a job loss or break up or whatever else. Now that I have caught my self falling into a similar category (I don’t share food period, depressed or not get your own damn ice cream). I get it ladies there is just something about chocolate, ice cream or the combination of the two that just makes you feel better if even for a minute. And its understandably so. There are some studies that show that eating cacao the seed in which chocolate is made can be a form of anti depressant. Especially when consumed in the form of dark chocolate. Similar studies have shown that consumption of dark chocolate in particular can led to lower risk of depression. In short guys the ladies might be on to something when they say they “need” chocolate after a stressful day or life situation.

While I am blessed to have a pretty good life with a loving family and the only debt my wife and I have is our home mortgage. I still have those days where I feel like the ostrich just wanting to bury my head in the sand. Except I don’t like sand. In fact I hate it. It gets every where you cant get rid of it. Not to mention uncomfortable and gets places you really don’t want it. But I am however finding more and more that I really really love chocolate. Especially on those good for nothing hard days. It makes me feel better, it lifts me up in a sense, and there is just something about it that seems to calm the stress away and clear my mind. As an example of the benefits of chocolate stress relief I have been down on my self all day over another case of writers block trying to set in. So what did I do? I broke out the trusty chocolate moose tracks with my wife (She had plain old vanilla instead) sat down and in the mist of drowning my sorrows in chocolate. Aha I started writing this article and fought the writers block away. Chocolate never fails. Now I still don’t think its exactly healthy to over eat chocolate and can lead to several health risk if consumed to much like most other things in life that are good. It really does make you feel better at the end of a long day. Also if your feeling a little extra down go for the chocolate overload and try a nice fresh warm brownie topped with chocolate ice cream. It’s absolutely amazing! Warm and gooey brownies with the ice cream melting over it theres not much in life better than that.

So ladies the next time life has got you down feel no shame go drown your sorrows in what ever form of chocolate you prefer to enjoy. I completely understand, and all those macho guys out there who like I once did make fun of the ladies “need” for chocolate on a rough day. The next time life is throwing you curve balls and you just can’t seem to hit em’. Get your mom, sister, wife, girlfriend or what ever other female companion you have in your life grab some chocolate (I prefer and recommend ice cream) sit down with them and pour out your sorrows over chocolate. I DARE YOU! just try it. Like my self you might be surprised at how much better you feel after a good Ole fashioned chocolate break down pity party. Tomorrow when you feel better about yourself because of it, and you will. Tell all of your macho man buddies what you did. And suggest they try it with there female companions the next time there down, and tell them how it made your day better. As a result we will find a new way to ease our stress, get over our depression, and not to mention your ladies will love the quality time you spent together. As well as the fact that you opened up to them and trusted them with your problems.

coping
2

About the Creator

Paul whiddon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.