Psyche logo

Don’t Worry I Hear Them Too.

My Take on Eleanor Tang don’s Ted Talk “The Voices In my Head

By “K. Dee Livingston” (D.S.A)Published 2 years ago 10 min read
1
It isn’t real

Table of Contents

Abstract 3

Don’t Worry, I Hear Them Too 4

Schizo 4

Voices 4

Recognition 4

Labels 5

A Summarized Discovery 6

References …………………………………………………………………………………………7

Abstract

I chose to do my paper on Eleanor Langdon‘s Ted Talk, appropriately titled,

The Voices In My Head. A intelligently crafted summarized interpretation of schizophrenia.

Which I admire this woman’s courage. And I can honestly say I understand her pain. It made me, for a second feel for the first time in my life like I was actually in the right place for the duration of this Ted talk. There is no question in my mind that psychology was my calling thanks to this woman story about her personal battle with schizophrenia. There is much argument over whether or not the schizophrenia is a adverse effect on neurological development as research has shown such affects make people vulnerable to psychosis. Which I find very interesting. This woman has taken some thing and turned it into hope for so many people. And validated a few before just thought of reasons of my own. As I stated for the first time I know I am exactly where I am supposed to be.

Don’t Worry, I Hear Them Too

Schizo

Schizophrenia Is a mental disorder that causes a person to for some reason interpret reality differently. And so much so that it can often cause a person to hallucinate in either visual or auditory all senses. People with schizophrenia tend to be fearful of some thing and as a result isolate or act in ways that are not appropriate which eventually becomes debilitating in most cases. There is a staggering Number of homeless people said to have schizophrenia and are only homeless in order to alleviate the pain that they feel they are inflicting upon their families by being around them. So they tend to push away relationships and eventually themselves and prefer a life without a home and on the streets so to protect the ones that they care about the most. And yet you rarely hear of a schizophrenic being talked about as caring loving or considerate in nature.

Schizophrenia, which , according to the wise wording of Wikipedia, is said to be caused by “Family history of cannabis use in adolescence, problems during pregnancy, childhood adversity, birth in late winter or early spring, older father, being born or raised in a city[5][6].

I feel that that explanation in itself is a good example of both how difficult it is to understand and also how alarming it is that there isn’t some thing of greater depth or certainty that has yet been discovered with research in areas of the schizophrenic mind. Granted the Stated risk factors, I’m only going to assume are outdated as opposed to ignorance that has been allowed to be displayed in reference to something, that, I feel is as fascinating as schizophrenia.. Or the possibilities, I would like to add ,of what schizophrenia could potentially lead a person to discovering. 1

The Voices

The Voices In My Head was an immediate chosen topic for me, due to my personal relation on the subject matter itself. I can’t tell you the feeling of ease I think that I felt for the first time. Maybe in my life, after listening to this woman tell “my story”, almost in so many words. It made me realize that I am on the right track in my own way of thinking thus far in order to alleviate myself of this mental state . And that a huge key in a person being “ OK” so to speak, is more than likely self awareness.

Recognition

I feel like I could help this woman completely achieve comfort. And I feel that she may be able to help me as well. I couldn’t help but both sympathize and feel empathy while observing Ms. Longden’s speech.

She shows all too familiar signs of someone who has learned how to live with the “voices in her head”. I am currently in the middle of my own continuing mental dissection that is conveniently fitting right in with my current life just as conveniently as with this Ted Talk.. I believe this woman doesn’t have to live with the voices she has to hear them. Recognizing is one thing but understanding enough to accept and forgive is the start of what I think, that with the right routine in the areas of self help for instance, would make it possible to change your perception enough to rid the voices by leaving them behind so to speak . Or saying goodbye. Closure maybe is a key factor as well. Letting go of whatever the instance was that created that particular part of you to become injured. Acceptance doesn’t mean that you have to be OK with whatever traumatic experience you Have endured. Acceptance is understanding that the reasoning for the trauma in the first place can exist the same way that it does in that particular person. And knowing that shows that you have compassion. And I think with compassion you can start to recognize and understand the rest of yourself as you observe others throughout life.

Labels

I don’t like that we have labels on the states of awareness that exist within all of us. Because it makes it seem as if they don’t. And really it’s maybe the awareness of these rarely or hard to recognize thoughts that is a level of intelligence greater than the ones who had the nerve to label these genius levels as crazy to begin with. Because again back to behaviors of cruelty or shying away from anything that we don’t understand rather than taking the time to learn. And as a result , understand. That would create empathy. Empathy is the one thing I wish all people had the ability to develop. It leads to compassion as well.

I never heard the “Voices In My Head”, except one time. About 10 years ago. I knew the logistics of it all and after watching this Ted Talk and listening to Eleanor speak particularly of one particular instance of trying to “drill a hole in her head at one point to rid herself of these voices”. because it was these voices that was when I first understood how a person could do such a thing. I would have done anything to get them to stop. Even knowing what it was I still couldn’t grasp onto reality long enough to define it as my earlier diagnosis of schizophrenia.

I was diagnosed when I was 12. However I didn’t really show any signs of it until I was older. And I honestly don’t know if it was before I knew exactly what Schizophrenia was. And when I did,. It was then and that of course things started standing out to me that were probably always there . I just didn’t know that they were a possible symptom. There’s a lot to be said about that. When a label is put on something suddenly a person notices all things that have something to do with that label. Mentally, I think I knew how my brain worked,even at that time enough to know that if I would have succumbed to the diagnosis and still, if I were to completely look everything head on and with the intention of my eyes being the ones that see it .

I would be in a straight jacket by tomorrow morning if I did.

. There are some things that you can’t explain. The episode I spoke of that occurred 10 years ago is a defining moment in my life. Prior to that I didn’t really have any sort of faith or belief in anything. Not in an intelligent manner I might add but in a smug and ignorant display of ignorance. It wasn’t until that day when the only thing that I trusted and was screaming to was God. And I don’t relate to organize religion I only called my faith God because that’s how the majority of you know it to be. It was a day that I decided there was some thing that was bigger than me regardless what it was and I didn’t have control of it. And I think my ego up until that point was pretty large and needed to be knocked down a few sizes. And it was. Wiseman fears the Lord. I literally have lived my life by that phrase since that day 10 years ago. I joke around with people that eventually can’t stand me because I am an honestly aware person and a lot of people would like to believe that they are as well until they are put around a real empath or a genuine soul because it makes it easier for them to see what theirs really looks like. And for some reason they feel responsible in most cases they aren’t. In this TEDTalk it is spoken about these voices being the parts of her personality or a persons personality that have been abused or hurt and damaged. In other words , traumatized.

A Summarized Discovery

A lot came to light for me upon researching the assignments for both of my classes. So I submitted last weeks assignment and with that came the realization that I had caught all of my voices on audio for the first time and found it fascinating and extremely disturbing and hard to swallow ever since.

10 years ago I knew after evaluating myself in the situation (when I could hear again.) I knew that these voices , that were so clear and of people that I loved. I knew that it was my inner thoughts and my fears. My fears of how I felt about myself and my fears of what others also thought of me being manifested through the voices of people that I cared about. Because I didn’t care enough about myself in order to hear me up until that point probably.

. I now treat everyone like I would want to be treated and I am one of the most empathetic people I’ve ever met. And this isn’t boasting this is me being grateful out loud. Being empathetic gives me the ability to be great at everything that I ever get enough ambition to do because I mean everything that I do.

I strongly believe that there is something to be researched or said about what these hallucinations say or what they do and what we perceive it to be at the time. Because I don’t think that it’s just our inner voices. I think it is all of us so to speak all of your levels and consciousness maybe being recognized. Existing on all levels . I have had a very traumatic series of unfortunate events play out over the past couple years that would cause any person to fall apart. But I don’t feel that that is what I’m trying to figure out. I think that if a person either is alone or if a person has to behave one way and is another which would result in them ultimately feeling completely and utterly alone, I think that the human brain will manifest what it needs to in order to continue moving forward. I think that we are all capable of recognizing these levels of awareness. In the audio that I mentioned earlier, I speak of this and say “when the last one is forgotten then there is no longer a you.”

This woman is doing all kinds of wonderful things. There is an organization for people that hear things and I thought that was awesome. I love that she is attempting to lift the stigma and I love even more that she is also focusing on a natural more holistic cure all together for this illness.

I sourced from a research paper that she was a part of and it talks about the importance of showing compassion and actually caring for these patients. So in other words, taking the time to understand and achieving amazing results because of it . I lit up when I was reading this because that is the basis for everything that I promote everything that I do is to manifest some thing amazing by introducing different variations of non-chemically induced wellness alternatives in order to promote feelings of self-worth and confidence and overall better sense of well-being in order to understand and recognize and define ourselves and discover the truth and the awareness that comes with it from within.

How naïve it does seem but, Imagine everybody being positive and the law of attraction working in the other direction. This woman opened so many doors for me. And I am anticipating every thing that I find behind each one of them. I would love to conduct some kind of study or contribute my own findings that I have documented in someway , because I truly believe that if you as this woman puts it “care for the imagination” at a young age , and to put my spin on it, by way of color. Because the rainbow is easy for children to understand and a way to put emotions with something tangible in order for them to understand at an early age that even if they haven’t felt emotion or experience with it , that they can still recognize it in someone else. And just the awareness of knowing that it can exist and understanding what it could feel like could eliminate the need to push away or make fun of what we are selves haven’t experienced because instead we would understand. And it would result in people treating people the way that they should in the way that they would want to be treated themselves. Nobody‘s emotions are any better or any different and then the next person‘s . And the sooner we realize that the better thanks would be.

References

Longden, E. (2013, February). The voices in my head [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.ted.com/talks/eleanor_longden_the_voices_in_my_head?language=en

schizophreniadisorder
1

About the Creator

“K. Dee Livingston” (D.S.A)

Prismatic. https://kaydeelivingston.Wordpress.com , https://linktr.ee/kimliedescopi6

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/faith-the-unicorn-k-dee-livingston/ https://www.linkedin.com/in/kaydeelivingston

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Valentina Savage2 years ago

    Well explained and written! I invite you to read my stories. I have one about schisophrenia:) thank you so much

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.