Psyche logo

Detoxing My Heart

Inpatient Care

By Hannah HooperPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Blurred lights; faint sounds,

Mumbling voices; chills abound.

Clammy skin; heart beating,

Dry mouth; am I dying?

Strained eyes; room spinning,

Floating objects; gut wrenching.

Spiders crawling; lice gnawing.

Fingers clawing; am I drowning.

Detox room for safety reasons,

Blankets removed; skin freezing.

Side to side; tossing and turning,

All the while my soul was groaning.

Why am I still here I ask myself,

I had made my peace; bid myself farewell.

People obstructed my obsession,

Obsession with death; with life’s sessation.

Angry I was with the way of events,

As I lay contemplating my situation at the present.

Lost; alone; misunderstood,

When out of prison; kill myself I would.

But the empathetic staff of inpatient care,

Stirred within me an ember, a flair

Fostered a ray of hope so rare,

Expressing concern about my welfare.

Love and care won my heart,

Helped me heal right from the start.

Try I promised myself that day,

As I dropped to my knees and prayed.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.