Psyche logo

Depression: Unraveling Slowly

How can you cope?

By Michelle WhitePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Depression: Unraveling Slowly
Photo by Fernando @cferdo on Unsplash

Depression. The worst possible thing you could feel when you were once feeling so happy. Maybe it was something you did wrong, or maybe it just wasn't your day. Either way, depression sucks. Sometimes it's just something we have to deal with. Sometimes it's completely situational, other times we just feel stuck in rock bottom.

Sometimes finding different ways to cope can be hard. Some people cope through crafts, movies, books, for me it's writing and crafts. Occasionally getting lost in a great book is a great way to escape but writing my feelings down in different ways helps more. It makes me feel like I'm letting go of everything.

Between journaling and crocheting, reading and other forms of writing, sometimes life feels okay. Other times, it's a total nightmare. I occasionally wish I could escape to a realistic fantasy world on command. Sometimes life just feels like it's too much to deal with. I know a few friends of mine probably wish the same.

Sometimes we feel like we've already lost so much. Sometimes losing as much as we have feels like it's too much to deal with. Sometimes, maybe it actually is. But we can always remember that we can't have the rainbow without the rain.

Occasionally we feel like we're losing touch with reality. I find that it's not always a bad thing, depending on what you're dealing with at the time. Sometimes living in a fantasy world is also a good way to cope, but always remember to come back to reality. Unfortunately, we can't always live on cloud nine forever.

If you enjoy horror books, I find that cracking open a Stephen King book or even one of your own favorite authors is great. I tend to get lost in nature books and learning about new things. This is usually my distractions. Watching my favorite movies is great as well. I love Disney+ and I have probably watched The Little Mermaid or Hocus Pocus a million times by now. I love to find new things to watch on Hulu sometimes, but I usually just stick to my usual methods of coping: Disney movies, and herbal tea.

Different ways to self care is great during hard times. If you're currently in school, throw your attention to your school work. I know sometimes it's hard to get focused. I usually do my work with a little background noise. Sometimes putting my headphones in and blasting my favorite songs are great to help me complete projects on time.

Part of my coping I've been doing lately is writing my novel. It helps me create my own fantasy world, and I've even thought about writing a helpful book on mental illness. Sometimes I feel like putting the information of something from someone who already deals with it could help someone down the road.

If there's a project you've been thinking about starting for fun, here's your sign. Jump into it full force, and get creative. It's never too late to follow a dream you've always had. If depression keeps getting in the way, take a moment to yourself then jump back in. Some people will tell you "well don't let it." Unfortunately, it's not that simple.

At the end of the day, something so small can affect you in a huge way. Small things sometimes make the largest impacts on our lives, and sometimes we just need something or someone to help us make it better. Go see your friends, go read your book, go make some tea or coffee and snuggle up with your favorite blanket or stuffed animal (even your cat or dog, or any other pet), and just let loose. Breathe deeply, and take yourself to a happy place. You'll thank yourself for it later.

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Send a tip if you feel like it, but I wrote this in hopes to simply help someone.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Michelle White

Hi! My name is Michelle, and I love to write about many things. I find that writing is a wonderful release for me, and I'm sure many of you feel the same! I enjoy reading everyone's wonderful stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.