Psyche logo

Causes, Problems and Cure of the Anxiety of Vomiting

Causes, Problems and Cure of the Anxiety of Vomiting

By Ritika KaramchandaniPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I got to the point that I thought I would never get over emetophobia. That it was impossible for me to cure emetophobia because it was such a big part of me. I think I actually started to define myself in terms of my emetophobia. If you had asked me "what I was" I would have said emetophobic before I said, woman, American or wife (obviously I would never have said this out loud!).

My emetophobia had become the definition of my existence and even though I had a great career and a wonderful husband, my emetophobia was the focus on my life. I think I must have been good at acting as virtually no-one knew something was seriously wrong with me. I think this was helped by the fact my husband knew early on in our relationship and looking back he must have covered for me a lot.

That is not my life anymore. I'm not going to lie, it has been tough to get to the point where I felt free but being here now feels so worth it!I had 2 main motivations to finally break free. First of all I was 37 and really, really wanted to have a child. I had put this off for years. First I argued that me and my husband were not settled and then I was worried about my career, but to be honest it was all the emetophobia. I thought I would be a terrible mother and could not cope with the idea of morning sickness. In my mind a mother should put her kids first and I was just not convinced I could do this.Secondly, my husband reached breaking point.

Also Read - jewelry collection names

After 10 years of emetophobia he had finally had enough. I hate to say it but I do not know if this alone would have been the push I needed. I lived with this constant guilt that I was limiting my husband's life, but he has free will. I was honest about the emetophiobia before we moved in together. I knew I could not hide it and I was lucky enough that he accepted me and my phobia. The trouble is I kind of made it a pre-condition of us moving in together before we got married. Love me, love my phobia kind of stuff.

I presented emetophobia as incurable and as something he had to live with. Looking back now I cannot believe how much he adapted his life for me. This is why I do not think that my husband alone would have done it. It's not that I do not love my husband; it was just that the pressure was not there with him. I knew he could walk away and that scared me, but I wanted to be a mom so much and my baby could not just walk away. This meant I had to be stronger.I do not want to give anyone false hope, taking that first step is really hard.

I felt myself starting to run away a few times and just kept having to visualize my baby in my arms. That was what helped me most. It took me nearly a year before I could honestly say I was no longer emetophobic. Don't get me wrong I still have triggers. I still feel panic sometimes, but I know I can cope with it. It isn’t bigger than me anymore. Visualization and breathing exercises really, really helped me but the biggest thing was finally facing up to my fear.So I think that is how I managed to cure emetophobia - I looked it in the eye and said enough was enough!

Read More - skin care business names

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.