Psyche logo

Been a While

Where I was in the past/mental health issues

By Mica ChauPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Been a While
Photo by Atharva Tulsi on Unsplash

It's been a while. I miss everyone.

I was a happy person who wanted to succeed, helping my family with their debt, and thought about a bright future.

Now, I barely have any hope left, losing control of my emotions and habits, and became a disappointment.

The pandemic took a toll on me. I barely have the energy to wake up in the morning and couldn't sleep at night. I couldn't eat as I normally do because of stress. My coping methods are failing. I couldn't be happy at anything in my environment. My only coping methods are spending time with my boyfriend and talking to my counsellor, which helped a lot, but at the same time, they're not available 24/7.

We thought that 2020 would be a prosperous year since it is a new decade, but it all changed when COVID-19 came here and caused damage and havoc to our lives. Some have lost their lives during the year, some have scars from the damage of COVID, and others may have psychological and mental damage because of lockdowns and the lack of interaction with their family and friends. It wasn't easy, but with vaccines rolling out, I think 2021 will be a better year than the cursed year we went through.

I have suffered multiple breakdowns during the year, from panic attacks to depressive thoughts. Staying at home doesn't help me at all, since I'm living with my family of six, plus a dog. I barely have the space to do anything. To make matters worse, I have to deal with my family. I don't like spending a lot of time with them because I still have mental scars back in the past. However, I am grateful that they didn't get COVID, nor did I.

Now, about 2019. It was a tough year for me. I was hospitalized for five days because of my mental issues and suicidal thoughts. It was a tough five days, especially during the beginning, where I had a breakdown. Even though the breakdown was brief, it still impacted me. My parents had no idea that I was hospitalized because they were out of the country. I did bounce back during the second half of the year. I had to take a break from my studies due to mental instability, but I did try to recover from my breakdowns and anxiety.

2020 was not the case for me. The first three months were great, but everything went downhill since we went into lockdown. We were fine during the first lockdown, but the second lockdown is difficult for me. I don't have a strong social circle, my boyfriend is 20 kilometres away from where I live (which would take about an hour if I travel by bus), and spending time with my family is an introvert's nightmare. And please do not make me start talking about my home.

From there, I noticed how reclusive and toxic I am, not only towards my family but also myself. I fell back to my bad habits (which do not involve smoking and drinking thankfully), and I couldn't control my emotions anymore. Virtual hangouts and calls were a struggle for me, as I have problems with talking to people over the phone. Even talking to my family was a struggle for me. I placed too many expectations towards myself, thinking too much about the future, and started back from square one.

But this time, I decided to do my own thing.

I am going to write some stories on this platform. Even though I have some trouble with my communication skills and grammar, it won't stop me from doing things that I love.

And starting now, I will obtain redemption.

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Mica Chau

Creating stories is my passion, whether real experiences or not. I'm also a fan of music, passionate on creating videos and a media design student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.