Psyche logo

Anxiety is Real

Anxiety is hidden, but always there.

By Allison WhitlowPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Anxiety

"You're just stressed out!"

"Relax and calm down, you're just scared."

"Anxiety is just a fancy word for nervousness."

"It's all in your head!"

If I had a dollar for every time someone has told me the following terms, I could retire and explore the world. Anxiety is not seen as a "mental illness" to many people because it's not physically seen. For example, I had an anxiety attack at my grandmother's house and my cousin told me, "Just chill out, there's nothing to worry about."

What people don't understand is that yes, I KNOW there's nothing to worry about, but I can't control my anxiety and what triggers it. I could be walking down the street on a beautiful sunny day and suddenly my chest tightens, I get dizzy, I can't breathe, and my heart starts racing. Another example is I could be out with my girlfriends at the local shop and suddenly I start shaking, I get hot and I feel like I'm "out of my body."

Many people don't take anxiety serious enough, but anxiety can have pretty severe effects on your body. Anxiety disorder can make you have loss of appetite and lack of interest in sex. Other symptoms mostly include muscle tension, headaches, and insomnia. Frequent panic attacks can cause you to fear the anxiety attacks themselves, thereby increasing overall anxiety.

There are five different types of anxiety disorders. The most common is social phobia, or Social Anxiety Disorder: an anxiety disorder characterized by overwhelming anxiety and excessive self-consciousness in everyday social situations. Social phobia can be limited to only one type of situation, such as a fear of speaking in formal or informal situations, or eating or drinking in front of others — or, in its most severe form, may be so broad that a person experiences symptoms almost anytime they are around other people. Other anxiety disorders are OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder), PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder), Generalized Anxiety Disorder and Panic Disorder.

When I have an attack, I can either want someone to hug me and softly speak to me, or I could want to be by myself outside. I've spoken to a few people who have anxiety as well and they've all said the same thing: quiet environments are best when you are having an attack, whether it's outside or inside.

A few things not to say to people while they're having an anxiety attack are:

  • "Calm down."
  • "You're overreacting."
  • "You're embarrassing yourself by freaking out over nothing."

Many times when you say these things, it has a negative effect on that person, which can cause their attack to be worse. You can instead try to help them through this scary situation, especially if you are in public. During this time try to comfort them with positive words such as:

  • "I'm here for you."
  • "This is temporary, you will get through this."
  • "We can go somewhere else if you want."

I've noticed many people have been brushed off by doctors many times, especially male doctors. According to a 2015 poll taken in the U.S., 85% of patients who have seen a male doctor reported that the doctor chalked it up to "stress," and they left them untreated. It's time doctors start recognizing anxiety symptoms and taking them seriously.

Just remember, you ARE stronger than this beast that we know as anxiety. Anxiety has nothing on you. Your body is YOURS, not anxiety's. When anxiety comes knocking on your door, tell it to go away. Tell it that it's not welcome anymore. Surround yourself in a positive environment with amazing support systems. Don't be afraid to talk to people. You're a strong individual — so own it.

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Allison Whitlow

I'm Allison, I'm 20 years old and living life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.