Psyche logo

An Empty Cup

...

By Jenna Nicole LeePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
An Empty Cup
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

I've never been good at rest. I've spent my life feeling as though I always have to be working towards the next thing. The next goal is always on the horizon, waiting for me to look at it. Fighting a feeling of failure based on such an intangible concept is...kind of the worst. My goals are lofty. Difficult. Rarely ever attained in a day, and yet--nightly, my failure to attain them brings me to a low that I can't logic myself away from.

Unfortunately, knowing that your feelings are ridiculous doesn't magic them away.

So, for a while, I've been trapped in a downward spiral. Depressed because I feel unaccomplished, and having no energy to accomplish anything because I'm depressed. Finally, a realization hit. How could I accomplish anything? How can you pour from an empty cup?

This year, I'm aiming to do something a little different.

What if that part--filling my cup--was included in my goal steps. Holy crap! A revelation. (One that many have already had, I'm sure, but a win is a win!)

Here we are in 2022 and with the perfect opportunity for a fresh start. Therein lies my resolution: to specifically add restful items as an action step. For example, my to-do list might say:

1. Pick up the laundry

2. Work on chapter in novel

3. Play video games for 3 hours

Honestly, at first it seemed counter-intuitive. Write something so silly down on my to-do list, like it was actually important? The thing is, is is important! Doing those items are just as important to my goals as the more directly linked things. When I do things like play video games for however many hours, I feel recharged. I experience a story that allows my imagination to work and pull things in. I haven't rammed my head into a (figurative) wall for an hour trying to write.

And more than that, putting it on my to-do list gives me permission to spend that time doing that thing, i.e. I don't feel guilty about it anymore!

I'm not totally sure what do do without all that guilt. Without it weighing me down, I might just float into the sky, but then again that's exactly what I want.

Since I've started trying this, I have written more, slept better, and felt better than I have in ages and it seems so simple now. Some of my restful to-dos include:

Take a 2 hour long bath

Kitty time

Headphones time

The additional boxes on my to-do list sure make me feel more accomplished, too, which is an added bonus.

Doing this has also helped me reel in my to-do lists a ton. Whereas before, I might have had a two page to do list with 45 different tasks that would in no way get completed that day, along with my new category of to-dos, I'm trying to more accurately estimate the time that things take. This has allowed me to pare down my to-do list to items that I can actually get completed in a day, certainly giving my to-do lists a little bit more oomph.

Between these two things, I'm really seeing a light at the end of the tunnel. I'm feeling both like I'm moving closer to my goals AND like I'm not going to go crazy while I get there. What a freaking concept. Focusing on both the journey and the destination. If, while doing the above, I can also work on getting more meditation in and expanding my yoga practice back to what it was pre-COVID, well, I can't do much better than that.

Self care is health care, after all.

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Jenna Nicole Lee

Who knows? I'm just trying to make and learn while I go.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.