Psyche logo

America's Mental Health Crisis

The Wait List for Mental Health Care

By Kylie TaylorPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Today's youth facing serious mental health crisis.

Recently trying to get a mental health appointment for my 10 year old son, has been an eye opener as to why there is mental health crisis in America. Yes, you are reading that absolutely correct my 10 year old son. So I have spent the vast majority of my morning calling on referrals from his pediatrician and still do not have an appointment for him. I am screaming inside because his mental health is of the utmost importance to me and I cannot even get him an appointment and let me tell you the problem with all of this.

The wait time for an appointment at one center is over a year long, and that is just for pediatric mental health. Another clinic won’t even set an appointment with you until you come into their office and fill out a “screening”, and this is with a referral from a pediatrician. The third clinic that we received a referral to over 6 months ago despite our calls to them has yet to contact us back. Does this sound like there is any help in the near future for my 10 year old child?? Yes my 10 year old child.

Getting Help for Todays Youth

What our Children are Experiencing

So what does this mean for my child? This means that, he as a 10 year old child must continue to struggle. He must continue to feel awful internally, and live a less than quality lifestyle. This means as a parent I have to watch my child struggle, I have to watch my child feel inadequate and not even understand his own feelings. My child should not have to feel the way he does, I should not have to jump through hoops to get him help.

Children are being left to struggle with their own emotions and feelings because they can't get the help they need in a timely manner. Parents are getting frustrated with their children because they are acting out and that is not within their control. These children already feel bad about themselves, then add the fact that they feel like they are always in trouble on top of that. These children are truly suffering and this simply has to end. Something needs to be done to get these children help, give the families support to get through these times.

How this Crisis is Happening

So let me tell you what a large portion of the cause to this crisis is. Pediatricians are referring their anxiety and ADHD patients to behavior health. Behavioral health is a mental health care service. Insurance companies and medical groups are no longer allowing doctors to treat their patients with ADHD or anxiety amongst other ailments.

So with this whole referring out, mental health has become so backed up, that patients are suffering. You cannot easily get an appointment for mental health care. This has left my 10 year old and many other children just like him left hanging in limbo. It has left us as parents in deep concern for our children and struggling to help them.

Our Youth Need this Crisis to End

Really what is a 12 to 13 month wait for an appointment to get mental health treatment going to do? In some severe cases these children will not even be around in 12 to 13 months. We just can't sit back and watch this happen, and it is only projected to get worse.

The trauma, the anxiety, the PTSD and more isn't going to wait 12 to 13 months for an appointment. Parents are frustrated, providers are frustrated and more importantly these children are suffering. This isn't fair to the child or the family. Something needs to be done to end this crisis before families experience traumatic loss due to lack of care or delay of care.

treatments
Like

About the Creator

Kylie Taylor

I am freelance creative. I don't want to be just a writer, just a photographer, or just a designer. I want to educate and entertain people on a wide variety thing I have knowledge on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.