Psyche logo

Always “HAPPY”

The truth

By Kalee Berrey Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Always “HAPPY”

Hello, my name is Kalee. As you see in my picture I’m happy, laughing, and enjoying the beautiful out doors.

Being outdoors is my happy place, you’re free to laugh, run, dance, and scream without judgement.

Most people will read my caption and wonder why I put the word happy in quotations. Well, you see everyone can look happy on the outside but still be hurting on the inside. “Never judge a book by its cover” is what I’ve always been told. In this case that’s what I’m going to tell you.

I’m mostly happy, outgoing, and look for the good in every day. Some days we aren’t always happy go lucky people, we have bad days. Some days we want to run away, and never look back, other days we want stay exactly in the moment.

I have great things in my life, my own apartment, car, family, and friends. Why would I ever not feel blessed right? I am blessed, but I also struggle with a lot of insecurities like; not feeling wanted, Being ugly, not being liked by the people I’m around, being a bother. We all can relate I’m sure. If not you’re LUCKY!!!!!

I’ve struggled with depression, and anxiety for a long time and trying to recover from this some days feels impossible, and other days I feel amazing like I’ve defeated it. I’ll be the first to tell you, it’s nothing to be ashamed off. I always kept it to myself, and didn’t want to get help until I finally did. Talking to someone about your problems, wether I’d be friends, family, or a therapist doesn’t make you weak. We all need help in different way, and trust me talking to someone always helps! Don’t be ashamed, don’t feel like you’re weak, and NEVER let someone tell you you’re just seeking attention. If they do you don’t need that negativity in your life, find someone else to communicate your thoughts with.

When I’m having an anxiety attack, or a depressed episode why I typically do is start shaking, or cry to the point I can’t even breath. It’s not easy, or fun and all I want is for it to go away.

How I handle myself when I feel these episodes coming on now instead of having a full on attack. Take deep breaths, walk away with a glass of water or coffee and sit alone outside. I sit and think about all the good things I have in my life, and how some people don’t have the things I do. Sometimes I take 20-30 minutes, other times I take and hour. You have no time limit to bring yourself together!

All I want is for people to get the help they need, and never feel ashamed or embarrassed by the thoughts they have. We can’t control it, and if we could it wouldn’t happen. Take time to yourself, find out who you are. Talk to a therapist, see a doctor for further treatment like medication of home remedies!

IT IS NOTHING TO BE ASHAMED OF 🧡

coping
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.