Psyche logo

Affected by violence

it was about my life that has been affected by violence

By Ryah DennardPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Affected by violence
Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

How my life was affected by violence, Hi, hello my name is Nila and I am 20 years old and this is the story of how I was bullied and mentally,emotionally,physically abused by people I thought loved me. So where should we start? When I was 7 (an only child) I lost my parents to a crash in a snowstorm.My parents were both doctors (36 year old Lisa) (48 year old Harrold) and this day was supposed to be their day off to get sleep and spend time with me. Before they left they had the tiredest look in there eye’s, and on this specific night (May 9,2008) they unexpectedly got a call to come in as soon as they could, so they dropped me off at my grandmother's house (68 year old Annie) and told me they had to rush and perform and emergency surgery on one of there oldest client (86 year old Margret) who had a deadly tumor growing off her brain. The surgery lasted six hours, you're probably wondering how I would have known this stuff if i wasn't in the car, well after the surgery my parents were on the phone with me telling me how it went. They left around 8:30 pm and I didnt get a call until about 2:30 am. Me being the excited 7 year old I was ,I was waiting for them to come pick me up, but unfortunately they didn’t make it back. It turns out the snow had created black ice on the road which had caused theirs (black ford) and another car (white honda) to slide heads on (none of the passengers made it in my parents car or the other car). The sad thing about it was that I had just said bye and hung up the phone on them. A few hours later I didn’t get any more calls from them nor did they come to get me or call me grandmother. My grandmother was making breakfast for me and I turned on the news.What I saw was shocking, there were two cars crushed in the front and inside. Then the reporters showed all the passengers that died. My parents' face flashed across the screen declaring a fatal crash.I broke down and as I was crying my grandmother came and saw what I had seen on the Television, she turned it off and grabbed me in her arms crying trying to comfort me, 5 minutes go by and she gets a call, it tells her that the crash was my parents. After that trauma I lived with my grandmother for 6 years until she got sick (with cancer) and passed away. A week after the funeral (CPS) came and took me away to an Orphanage that was 500 miles away from my home. I stayed there for about a year until I got a foster home with (28 year old Addison) and (46 year old Bill). They had no kids and lived a average paying,and living life.They were nice for a week of my stay then they start acting as if I was the maid or house keeper of the house.If I didn’t do something right Bill would whip or beat me, if I spilled even a drop of water on the floor, Bill would whip or beat me and Addison just sat there or didn’t feed me for week. It went on like that for six months. I would go to school wear makeup or hid in my sleeves just to cover up the bruises I had.The caretakers of the orphanage came to visit and see how I was.They figured out that I was being abused.They took me away and put me back in the system and Bill and Addison went to jail. A few more months went past and I ended up in another home. I won’t go into detail about this home because of what happened but I will say I was physically assaulted in this home and at the end I ended back in the system.Two months (November 16) later it was my 15th birthday. I Spent it alone in sadness and depression at this point I wanted to end it all and the main point is that I didn’t tell anyone, but I knew ending it was for good.I went to the third foster home with (32 year old Milley) and her son (16 year old Millo). I choose not to open up to them. I started dressing in black and hanging with the wrong groups.I would sneak out, experimenting with drugs,stealing, contributing to gangs and crimes.I was like this for 2 years and my mom who adopted me still tried to get close and have a bond ,but I built a wall for my emotions and people. I wasn’t going to trust any one. One day (April ,21) the gang ( Splicer)(young teenage gang) that I hung out with was tied up in some deals with another gang. They ended up not paying anything and young 17 year old me was in the wrong place at the wrong time. I remember going to our usual spot then I heard gunshots (Bang) (Boom) (Bow) then all of a sudden I heard the gang around me and screaming in terror, “call the ambulance, call the ambulance!!!”.Then it went black. I woke up in the hospital to my mom and my brother. It turns out I was shot, not once but three times, one in my abdomen and one in the shoulder and one in the leg. It was too much pain to handle so I blacked out instead of screaming in pain.I was so surprised to see my mom there, she was screaming and crying in joy.I thought she hated me because I didn’t show her love. Two month after recovery my mom gave me a class to help with my depression and trouble and in that class we talked about what caused violence in our life and what we did that made it better. Now I am 20 years old, happy and better than I’ve ever been. P.S it’s fictional

What are the causes of youth violence?

Violence happens every day. Lots of people don’t know that other people are going through different violence everyday. Whether it’s being killed because of gangs and crimes or bullying and suicide or the internet ingenerall. These days most violence is caused by crimes and bullying and the internet because most people rather be followers instead of being good influencers. This is why people say don’t judge a book by its cover because you may not know why he/she are looking like this or acting like this. This person may look homeless but in reality they are homeless.

What can I do about youth violence?

First you can tell a trusted adult if you're a child also you try to ignore the situation. You can also contact mental health services or you can take a class to help with your challenges. You can contact the school and talk to a counselor.The most important thing about youth violence is you telling someone because if no one knows and something fatal were to happen to you or you were to do something to yourself , now no one ever knows and your reasoning for your fatality would be a mystery.Even if you don’t want to it is still important for you to get someone involved.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.