Pride logo

Why Is It That I Feel This Way

Coming out Story!

By KodahPublished 6 months ago โ€ข 3 min read
5

"May I take your order?" - The waiter said pulling out his notepad.

"Just a coffee for me."

"And you sir?"

"I'm fine thanks." - The young man said while shrugging his shoulders.

"Daniel. You got to eat something. You didn't take time out of your day just to watch my drink coffee!"

~Daniel lets out a bothered sigh~

"Um, yeah that's all, he might be hungry later." - The young lady answers.

"No stress. Won't be long." - He walks away.

"What's up with you?"

"I don kno"- He says eating his words.

"This isn't like the Daniel I know; something is so bothering you I can tell." She said as she shakes her head.

"There's nothing wrong, I'm just tir-."

"Can I ask you something then?" - She interrupts.

"What?"- Daniel engages himself reluctantly.

"Do you even like me?"- Liza questions firmly.

"Huh?"- He says confused.

"I don't know, I feel like you like me, but then you don't. But then you want to take me out cause you miss me. But like, do you really miss me? even like me? Do you even like me? I feel there's just this protection bubble blocking your inner true self for your safety."- She lowers her tone.

" You know you can tell me anything right?"- She adds.

~David raises his head high at Liza, engaged fully into what she's discovering~

"Woah that's a bit dramat-"- He stutters.

"Are you gay?"- Liza kindly interrupts.

"WHAT?"- He raises his voice.

"It's okay if your gay, Daniel. It's not like we are in the 1900s and you can get killed for being you. Why don't you just say it. I understand we've had our breaks mainly for your purpose, I wouldn't mind the outcome of us is just friends."

"Harsh. I-I-. Ugh."- He lets out a sigh.

"Are you gay, Daniel?"

"No, I'm not. At least, I don't think I am right now. I don't really know what I am, I haven't found it yet."- He says directly to Liza.

"Well, maybe it was dating me, I don't know. But I hope you realize that whatever you are, I'll always be happy for you." - Liza asserts in a caring tone.

"I don't think It's you, I just. I don't think, I ever liked girls as much as a normal guy like me should. It never felt right. I've never been with a guy though, so I can't comment on that."

"Don't say you're not normal because of that."- She buts in.

"I don't think I'm straight though; I don't know what I am."- Daniel cluelessly questions.

"Hey whatever you are, that you will find someday. I will support that no matter what! I just want you to realize that you do have people who care about you."

~Daniel grins~

"Talking to you always makes me happy, Liza. That's why I still ask to see you these days."

"Thank you, Daniel." - She smiles.

"What do you reckon I am though? I feel like I need someone else to discover who I am."

"That's your decision. I can help you but can't tell you. It has to come from your heart."

"So, I can pretty much choose whatever feels right to me!?"

"Pretty much!" - She excites him.

"Hmmm, how about. I don't like anyone right now!!"- He says passionately.

~Liza giggles~

"Sounds good to me!"

"Here is your coffee."- The waiter comes in time.

"Actually, I'm ready to order now! I'll get 2 milkshakes, 4 of the breakfast burgers and 6 loads of fries. And you might as well add some hot wings to it too."

๐‘ป๐’‰๐’† ๐‘ฌ๐’๐’…

RelationshipsCommunityPride MonthIdentity
5

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~๐“ข๐“ฝ๐“ธ๐“ป๐“ฒ๐“ฎ๐“ผ ๐“ฌ๐“ช๐“ท ๐“ซ๐“ฎ ๐“ช ๐“ต๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐“ฝ๐“ต๐“ฎ ๐“ญ๐“ฎ๐“ฎ๐“น~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    Hi! I just wanted to stop by and say I really enjoyed this light hearted yet meaningful short story :) The end was also the best haha made me chuckle for sure! Also, Iโ€™m a co-created for the first LGBTQ+ Vocal Facebook group called Queer Vocal Voices, and wanted to let you know we chose to feature this story for our Pride Pick ๐ŸŒˆ Feel free to check us out ๐Ÿ˜„

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.