Pride logo

16 carriages

a hate crime

By kpPublished 20 days ago Updated 19 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
16
16 carriages
Photo by feinschliff on Unsplash

he heard her booming,

“while i watch them ride with my fears away,”

filling the air

rushing from my open windows,

a cry to, for, and from those rendered voiceless.

she offers a reckoning

for those who need it most.

he heard a female voice

taking up space.

my crime? looking like a man

and listening.

“ain’t got time to waste, i got art to make.”

a crime committed by many before me

but often punished more severely.

o’shae was not there

to fight, but to dance, as is the case with many

of us queers. from pulse to club q,

death lingers in our spaces. our

spirit threatens the safety of their cognitive dissonance,

so they murder us.

“they won’t dim my light, all these years i fight.”

fat boy faggot, he said,

as i walked toward my door.

what is your malfunction? i said,

as he rounded the corner.

“only god knows,

only god knows,

only god knows.”

AdvocacyIdentityHumanityEmpowermentCultureCONTENT WARNINGCommunity
16

About the Creator

kp

I am a non-binary, trans-masc writer. I work to dismantle internalized structures of oppression, such as the gender binary, class, and race. My writing is personal but anecdotally points to a larger political picture of systemic injustice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming4 days ago

    I can never know exactly how you feel but through this work, I get a glimpse and I don't like what I see. Stay defiant, kp.

  • Christy Munson15 days ago

    Impactful and relevant perspectives you voice here. Powerful and moving. Angers me that these words are true, but I honor you for honoring the pain and the perseverance necessary for human beings to simply be.

  • ROCK 19 days ago

    No one knows the pain here more than another transgender person, or someone in the LGBTQIA+ community who empathizes. I fear for my beloved daughter, my sister's, cousin's and friends daily. The horrible discrimination they must live with is one thing, but no one should fear for their life because they are not Cis. I just let out a wail of tears.

  • Krishan Mubashar19 days ago

    Wow. Intense and heartbreaking.

  • This is an excellent work, love the stream of consciousness feel

  • angela hepworth20 days ago

    Stunning and heartbreaking. Love the references to Beyonće!

  • What a comeback tho, "what's your malfunction". But also what a traumatic experience

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.