Pride logo

PROUD

A short story to help you, hopefully

By Indigo ValePublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1
PROUD
Photo by Cecilie Johnsen on Unsplash

There is a line that exists here. A line that resides on the edge of my world and theirs. My world consists of love, peace, respect and dignity. Their world contains smoke, barriers and violence. Violence they use against us. Where I live, we celebrate colour, love, unity, freedom, and each other. Where they walk leaves trails unspeakable. But I’ve heard it. I’ve heard it all too well and clear. It’s vile. It hurts.

But it won’t break me anymore.

Over here, fears don’t hold us back, for there is nothing to be feared. Every day we enjoy life and take part in its wonderful activities. Sports, gaming, social interaction, music, art, reading and many more. Freedom is a beautiful thing. My world has that. Without freedom, we are prisoners to life. That is not living. That is surviving. And it’s hard to survive sometimes.

Or most of the time.

Even though I was only young, I remember it like it was yesterday. The clash. Where the line was crossed and no one was safe. Those who survived moved to another part of the world for safety. The rest were either gone or mourned loved ones for years. I was one of the ones who stayed. Why would a child stay after that? Because I realised the truth. I surveyed the area. I saw my parents. They are cheering.

I found the monsters the stories told me.

When I turned 16, I moved out. They were the ones in the wrong. I left before they could find out who I was. Horrible depictions entered my mind of them doing the worst to their own child. I had to save myself. The clash happened years ago, but my inner thoughts and feelings told me to not cross that line. So I paused before it. Their world looked so magical. Almost unreal. But it was. I could see it in front of me. Everyone is happy and helping each other. No one seems out of place or uncomfortable. I wanted to join them so badly. Tears streamed down my face as I gazed into the clear skies of joy. My legs grew weak and planted themselves into the dried out grass. I couldn’t live there. My home is back there with my parents. Who knows what they will do to me when they find out that I’m…

Don’t worry. They don’t need to know. No one has to know if you don’t want them to. This place is for the people who want a positive change. You’ve only seen one side of it. As well as LGBTQIA+, there are allys, survivors and changed minds. Anyone who wants to be happy can join us, as long as they do not view us as threats or abominations. People here help others, guide them down better and greater paths to become the best versions of themselves. You may have finally realised who you are, gone through trauma or simply were disgusted by us. But in this world, if you want to change for the better, explore yourself further or just get to know us, you are welcome here.

We are the oppressed. The ones that society hates. The ones that are shunned from everything else.

Life since then has changed a lot. More help is out there, but the hate still remains. And it is still high for LGBTQIA+. I hope one day that will change. I hope you find the courage to go out and find your true self. I hope you feel comfortable with who you are some day. Remember, you don’t have to tell anyone. If you do decide to tell them, I hope it goes well for you. If the response is bad, at least it’s no longer a concern in the back of your mind. You’re free now.

Be yourself.

Be proud.

CultureRelationshipsPride MonthIdentityHumanityEmpowermentCommunityAdvocacy
1

About the Creator

Indigo Vale

I share stories, not secrets.

Novice/Amateur writer. Trying to get back into creating stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.