Fiction logo

END

A short story to make you think

By Indigo ValePublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1

Here it is. This is the place where my brother was taken. Some bastard kidnapped him, brought him all the way out here and took his life. Took him away from me. My last relative; now I wander lifeless. What kind of older sibling am I, to not be able to protect my own blood? I have to avenge him. It’s the least I can do now. As daunting as the road ahead looks, I won’t stop until I find this monster.

This road. Now that I have ventured down it for some time, I realise why the killer would go here. The road is extensive. Which is why nobody tries to find missing people. They don’t want to walk for this long. Once you are taken, there is no such thing as hope. The town not only regrets, but silences. The sound of silence is uncomfortable as I keep moving forward. My will won’t wade. Even if this road continues on for hours, I will not falter.

As I move along this barren trail, I glance from tree to tree. They have no leaves. It’s autumn. But what I can’t grasp is that there are no leaves on the ground. Why didn’t I notice it earlier? No one lives close enough to clean them up, even if they did, it would be tiresome. Better to leave them alone. Shifting my gaze, I continue on. No more distractions. No more wasting time. However, I was getting tired. Surrounding mist dissipates as I exit it, but…

A single piece of paper. It’s mine.

Before going down this lane of fog and mystery, I planted this piece of paper to remember the path home. A circle? Didn’t feel like one. Guess I was too focused to realise. I catch my breath and head down again. Past the eerie looking trees, through the fog that holds no leaves for me to crunch on. Distant architecture. Not knowing what awaits, the wind accompanies me. Sharply.

I’m more tired than last time.

Same piece of paper. What is going on? I attempt to pick up the paper. It clings to the road. How is it stuck? Using all my strength, I try to retrieve it. No luck as I fall on my backside. Now I’m afraid. I get up frantically, checking my surroundings. I turn to go home. A voice speaks to me.

It’s my brother. He whispers it’s over.

You cannot move. You cannot speak. Only stare and breathe heavily at the road in front of you. Suddenly, out of thin air, a speckle of blue pops out and paces towards you. You want to move. You want to speak. Only blinks and heavy breathing you can manage. Until, the speckle becomes clear and drifts past you. You can move. You can speak. But choose not to, as the figure speaks in song. They appear to be occupied. Flashes of distant but potent memories return to your puzzled mind. A voice so tender and broken. It rings. It pierces. It haunts.

No.

You can’t control your movements. Your body whips around and follows the road, running faster than you ever imagined you could run. Stopping is not an option. You enter the mist. You return to the paper. Scream for help. You seem to be muted. Your memories are flooding back. You were warned of this place many years ago. Your brother told you about it. As you begin to tire and spin, your breath fading, the world turning dim, his words torment your stubborn head.

You should be ashamed.

This road will never…

Young AdultPsychologicalthrillerShort StoryMysteryHorror
1

About the Creator

Indigo Vale

I share stories, not secrets.

Novice/Amateur writer. Trying to get back into creating stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.