Pride logo

I feel my calling, Let It Be

Becoming a voice for the voiceless

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Fab 4 singing Let It Be

As I have watched this year go by, I have been paying more attention to issues surrounding LGBTQ youth. I am paying closer attention to the mistreatment of those you who identify as gay ( I will use this term instead of LGBTQ) throughout the article. There is no malice intended, nor insults or disrespect. I am in the same community and with me having cellulitis in my eyes and eye sockets even writing this article is difficult.

In Atlanta a twelve year old boy came out to his family as gay. They shaved his head and wrote the word gay into his hair. He was shamed on social media and beaten by his family. That boy now resides with Atlanta Department of Social Services. I don't know why kids like to put this stuff on video but I saw one on you tube where a boy about twelve called his dad into his room and said he needed to talk. The boy told his father he was gay, the father asked are you sure son? The boy replied yes and the father hugged his son and said, you are still my son and I love you.

I was watching another father son encounter. This time they were driving down the road when the son told his father he was gay. The father pulled over made him get out of the car and left him. The boy again around eleven or twelve was standing there crying as his father drove off. Luckily a police officer came by moments later and took the boy into protective custody.

Why is this happening still? Why are parents still bullying their children who come out as gay? Why are parents still throwing their vulnerable children into the streets because of who they love? Do you think it takes away your responsibility as a parent? Do you know what happens to your child after they are on the streets? Most of them are beaten, robbed, some turn to drugs and prostitution, some are raped and most commit suicide. Is this what you want for your child? Our children are going to disappoint us, they make mistakes and not everyone can have a completely heterosexual family. My family is the perfect example, my nephew is gay, I am as well and my oldest granddaughter is also gay.

I think we need to get past this he loves boys or she loves girls attitude. Too many children are dying because after they come out to their classmates or friends, they are bullied to the point they commit suicide. It took me to the age of 57 to come out as gay because my parents put so much pressure on me to provide them with grandchildren. That's not fair to your child, especially if you've known he was gay since he was 6. My parents put that kind of pressure on me, plus a stint in the psychiatric hospital because I was gay. As my feature song says, Let It Be. Our job as parents is to provide guidance, love, discipline to our children.

I do understand the Trevor project is in need of help both financial and volunteers to keep LGBTQ children from being homeless and committing suicide. But a twelve year old can't live alone and that is why I feel there should be foster care providers that are LGBTQ and will only accept LGBTQ youth. If you go through your local social services office you have to take whatever child is available.

I wrote my book Silent Cries A Memoir, to show others that they can overcome. Since I have published my book and I feel comfortable in my own sexuality now, I plan to use my voice for the voiceless. The most vulnerable in the LGBTQ community. I hope that covid will relax enough to where I can visit schools, and do public speaking on behalf of the community.

Parents can listen to their children instead of judging them. If your church kicks your child out, then leave with your child. If the schools want to kick your child out, fight for them. You are your child's advocate in society and your friends. I bet you if people started standing up for their LGBTQ youth instead of turning your backs on them they would be happier.

Identity
Like

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.